My Top 5 Anime for 2006 v2.0 (and more)

Standard

I can’t seem to sleep right now, so I think I’ll update this list a bit.


The Top 5

#1 School Rumble Ni-Gakki

Still tops my list. Episode 6 has been the best so far.

#2 Ouran High School Host Club

Probably the best new anime this year for me, excluding School Rumble Ni-Gakki.

#3 Ergo Proxy

Still holding on to #3. The opening has been constantly playing in my head these past few days. I’ve been getting some weird ideas…Hmm now to do or not to do…

#4 Jyu Oh Sei

Jumps to #4 and displaces NANA! Well, nothing really interesting has been happening with NANA the past few episodes, but Jyu Oh Sei on the other hand has been progressing really quite well. Poor Tiz got dumped by Thor, or was it part of Zagi’s plan??? Is Zagi the real enemy, or is it Ochre’s Third? Something seems wrong maybe Thor’s been fooled somehow. Oh the plot gets thicker.

#5 Xxxholic

Watanuki’s adventures right now are more interesting than NANA’s story. I’m looking forward to next episodes to come.

Other 2006 series I’m following:

  • NANA – not much is happening here.
  • Kiba – a lot is happening but it’s confusing @_@
  • Fate/stay Night – it’s winding down, how will it end?
  • Strawberry Panic – I’m not really into yuri, but the Etoile is the draw here.

Stalled:

  • The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi – I can’t seem to finish episode 2. I just lose interest. I don’t know if I’ll continue watching this.
  • Hantsuki – now when should I start watching this again…

Waiting list:

  • Utawarerumono – the furry ears and tails are weird.
  • Himawari – the first episode wasn’t really bad, but I want some ninja action!
  • Black Lagoon – …and more action!!

Discontinued:

  • Ray the Animation – the fighting nurses were a shock, I actually got to the 3rd episode but the weird things Ray’s been operating on finally got to me. Although I don’t get that yucky feeling watching CSI, somehow I don’t feel like watching any more of it in Ray.
  • The Good Witch of the West – it felt like the boring witch of the west. The dialogue turns me off.
  • ZEGAPAIN – I am not impressed. Mecha anime are my favorite genre, but nothing clicks here for me.
  • Air Gear – rollerblades? I think I’ll pass.

Edit: I forgot Air Gear. Yes, I’m still awake. Grrr.

4 responses »

  1. Can’t sleep either eh?
    Nice top five! I still have to watch School Rumble two but it sounds good from what I have read. In regards to Jyu Oh Sei I think that Zagi is going to use Karim to get close to Thor even though I think she has real feelings for him. However, her feelings for Zagi are stronger in the end. I kind of feel bad for Thor since he might end up loosing both girls.

  2. I’ve eventually watched Ray the Animation all the way through — and yes it was a total catastrophy. One of *the* worsest Anime I’ve seen. A weird combination of kung-fu doctors and dissecting patients, moronic story and generally confused characters. And as a bonus, there is a mystery doctor from ep1 which shows his half-sawn face only twice — at the end and in the beginning. WTF? 😦 The ending episode is probably a even bigger failure 🙂

Leave a Reply

