A new rating system, Project Raw, etc etc

Standard

After reviewing Jyu Oh Sei I’ve realized the need for a more objective (?) rating system. Of the reviews I’ve posted so far only Hajime no Ippo has gotten 5 stars. 5 stars to me just actually means I would recommend the anime to just anybody, and the only other anime like that would be Full Metal Alchemist. So just comparing with the other anime I like isn’t going to help me a lot. So I’ve broken the ratings down to this:

  • Animation at 0.75. There are older anime that I still have to watch, so I guess I’m not going to be so demanding about the animation.
  • Characters at 1. The presence of good and annoying characters, especially leads, usually plays a part in my like or dislike of an anime show.
  • Music at 0.75. Music sets the mood, but like my reason for animation, music is not everything in an anime show for me.
  • Story/Plot/Dialogue at 1. Boring dialogue is my number 1 pet peeve when it comes to anime.
  • Entertainment value at 1.5. Yes, giant robots always seem to entertain me. =p

Okay so entertainment value gets the biggest allocation because I will like the show no matter what if I enjoyed watching it. I guess this should enough, for now.

The Readability Test

Probably out of boredom, I decided to feed my Jyu Oh Sei review into this online readability test I found at Lifehacker. Now these tests are just predicting readability, and are mathematical in nature so they’re not that reliable. Anyway it’s just for fun I did this.

Reading Level Results

  • Total sentences = 104
  • Total words = 703
  • Average words per Sentence = 6.76
  • Percentage of word with three or more syllables = 13.51%
  • Average Syllables per Word = 1.50
  • Gunning Fog Index = 8.11
  • Flesch Reading Ease = 73.01
  • Flesch-Kincaid Grade = 4.75

Unfortunately, the test also includes nav bars so some accuracy is lost here. The important numbers here are from the Gunning Fog Index, Flesch Reading Ease, and Flesch-Kincaid Grade. Quoting the Juicy Studio Readability Test page, Gunning Fog Index “is a rough measure of how many years of schooling it would take someone to understand the content.” Flesch-Kincaid Grade is also similar to Gunning Fox, however there is a slight difference in the formula. Flesch Reading Ease “is an index number that rates the text on a 100-point scale.” The higher the score, the better, and ideal scores are between 60-70. So it looks like my post is readable, at least mathematically.

Project Raw

Since reading Hung’s Level Up post earlier today I just thought, yeah, maybe I should stop whining about the slow fansubs and just watch raws for a change. That way I could force myself to learn Japanese faster, especially in the listening department. But I’m still traumatized (?) from the first time I intentionally watched a raw, and that was Ergo Proxy 10. I could only clearly understand two sentences, and for somebody who barely passed JLPT 4 it was pathetic. I’m not doing Ergo Proxy raws again, so maybe I’ll just set my sights on anime with less complicated dialogue. Now my only problem is my connection right now which seems to have slowed down. Grrr!

Superman’s super-P cropped??!

I don’t know if the Sun’s article is really true, but a supposed insider reveals that Brandon Routh’s prized jewels were too big for some Hollywoods bigwigs’ comfort. They thought it would distract viewers, so they had it digitally altered to make it smaller. If it’s true, that would mean the bulging thingy I saw wasn’t the real size at all!! Actually, I just think it would another added attraction lol. Why you Hollywood cheats!! =p

3 responses »

  1. If you wanna understand I recommend watching shoujo/children’s shows because they typically use simpler japanese to cater to their young audiences. (examples are Kirarin Revolution, Power Puff Z and Mamotte Lollipop.)

Leave a Reply

