My Top 5 Anime for 2006 v3.0, and summer 2006

Standard

So after finishing Black Lagoon episode 9, I really felt like I had to update this.

The Top 5



#1 Ouran High School Host Club

Best anime so far for 2006 for me.

#2 School Rumble Ni-Gakki

I love School Rumble, but out of sight, out of mind.

#3 Ergo Proxy

I’m still waiting, waiting, waiting…for the subs. If not, I’m gonna put more wrinkles on my forehead and watch the raws.

#4 Black Lagoon

Revy/Levy is the newest kick-ass babe in town. Roberta is the anime counterpart of the T-1000. The only difference is she doesn’t melt. But if no subs come out I’ll plunge into the world of raws once again.

#5 Xxxholic

Still alive and holding on.

New Series

  • Honey and Clover II – first episode was a recap, so I don’t want to count it in just yet. But expect it to be up there one of these days.
  • Binbou Shimai Monogatari – I don’t like the hugging, but I’m not dropping this. It’s an interesting guinea pig for my foray into watching raws. And besides, it’s supposed to be only 10 episodes. I sat through 40++ episodes of Macross 7, and I could sure sit through 10 episodes of this one.
  • Project Blue SOS – I watched the raws, but it was kind of long, so I stopped watching. But it reminds me of that movie, Metropolis. Classic designs for cars etc etc. Even the city is called Metropolitan. Anyway the leads seem to be two male geeks who don’t inspire me to watch more. And if this was really similar to Metropolis, it’s gonna be one big boring show. I’ll pass. Unless somebody out there says otherwise.
  • Powerpuff Girls Z – the raw’s audio was awful. It made listening for the dialogue a painful experience for the ears. But I like the way they put the hiragana characters above the kanji. Maybe I should look for a better raw.

In my radar:

  • Le Chevalier D’Eon
  • Gundam SEED Stargazer
  • Coyote Ragtime Show
  • Night Head Genesis
  • Innocent Venus
  • Zero no Tsukaima
  • FLAG

Other 2006 series I’m following:

  • NANA – still not much is happening here.
  • Kiba – Zed is boring. But my officemates like it.
  • Strawberry Panic – Still watching.

Stuck in limbo:

  • The Melancholy of Suzumiya Haruhi – Still stuck at episode 2.
  • Utawarerumono – Stuck at episode 3.
  • Himawari – Stuck at episode 2.
  • The Third – Stuck at the opening of episode 1.

Discontinued:

Finished:

Now I gotta go. It’s Federer vs Nadal in the Wimbledon 2006 men’s final after all!!!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Cute Proxy’s Anime Rants » Blog Archive » Honey and Clover II: Episode 02

Leave a Reply

