Honey and Clover II: Episode 04

Standard

Hagu’s back!! At least for the first part. We are treated to Shuuji’s musings and recollections. But the fun part is Hagu’s expression regarding Munch’s painting.

Hagu's impression

Shuuji remembers the time when he was with Harada and Rika. Harada remembers the movie ‘Moon River’. As for me, I haven’t seen the movie, but the song ‘Moon River’ will never be just an oldies song again. Honey and Clover would definitely come to mind too. Anyway, Harada has this urge to cross the moonlit water, and not surprisingly Rika also wanted to go too. I guess that illustrates how strong the bond is between Harada and Rika. Though Rika must have been drunk, from the look on her face. Then we learn Shuuji’s just dreaming.


Shuuji recalls how he foiled Rika from following Harada, by saying she might not be able to meet Harada again in the truest sense. He also said something to the effect that he really couldn’t have done anything for Harada and Rika except to watch over their happiness. It’s only now I’ve also realized Shuuji’s real predicament. From experience, well, it’s sometimes hard to be in a threesome friendship with a couple in it. You can talk and be together, and yet the bond between the other two people would be vastly different than the bond with the left out party. Shuuji ends with the hope that the man now next to Rika (Mayama) can carry her to her future, the same way Hagu has for Shuuji.

Mayama the grabber

We change scenes, and now it’s Rika and Mayama at the train station. Rika actually is staring at the train to Sapporo, and Mayama pushes her into it. Mayama apologizes, saying he thought Rika wanted to go back to her hometown. That’s ok Mayama, no guts, no glory. But I’m surprised that Rika didn’t get mad or something. Anyway Mayama’s happiness went over the top with the little train trip, and the fact that they will sleep beside each other. However, when Rika awakens Mayama actually slept somewhere else.

Mayama's happiness savings

I don’t know if Rika was just a person reminiscing, but I do think she has opened up to Mayama, like when she tells Mayama about her dog. She then thanks Mayama for bringing her back to her old home. Mayama cuts her off by wiping the dust from her hand, and hugs her. The next scene we see the two in bed together, obviously they did it.

But here’s the cementing proof to Mayama’s stalker instincts: he places an alarm on Rika’s bag! As Rika leaves and takes her bag, of course the alarm sounds off. Mayama just springs back awake and just tells her that basically he has been spying/stalking on her, reading her emails and faxes, files etc. But Mayama was also actually on to Rika’s plan of ending everything when she finishes all of Harada’s jobs. He then pleads that she live on. Mayama cries too. More stuff actually happens, but it’s actually much better if you watch this episode. This has good rewatch potential.

At the hotel

Overall, this is one great episode. It tops episode 3, in my opinion. Or should it? Mayama’s love for Rika was already known to her before. Nomiya’s confession was, well, not true to form for somebody like him. Now I can’t decide. This also solidifies Mayama’s stalker status lol. Rika must be one patient and tolerant woman if she lets Mayama read her emails. I’d freak out if somebody was reading my emails and going through my stuff like that.

Now the my question for now is, will this develop into full-blown mutual love? Will Rika and Mayama really end up together in the end? In my episode 3 post I was saying poor Mayama. He scores points in this episode now. It would be interesting what would become of Yamada. Will she accept Nomiya? Or continue loving Mayama? Should I say poor Yamada now?

8 responses »

  1. I think Mayama didn’t have a choice…Rika didn’t give him a chance and this poor guy just have to read her emails to know what she is up to. Stalker or not this guy did it to save Rika because he really loves her. Therefore, to answer your question, I don’t see why this MayamaxRika thingy won’t work. In fact, I think only someone like Mayama would be able to tolerate a woman like Rika. At least thats what I think…

  2. I think Mayama didn’t have a choice…Rika didn’t give him a chance and this poor guy just have to read her emails to know what she is up to. Stalker or not this guy did it to save Rika because he really loves her. Therefore, to answer your question, I don’t see why this MayamaxRika thingy won’t work. In fact, I think only someone like Mayama would be able to tolerate a woman like Rika (IMHO).

  3. Oopss….sorry for double posting. Anyway thanks for the summary.

    P/S : That special Cute Proxy’s Re-mixed OP of Ergo Proxy had me in stitches.

  4. hmm double post…

    There’s no questioning Mayama’s love, but what I’m worried about is Rika. Will she be able to accept Harada’s death and move on? Can she love Mayama enough to forget about following Harada? These are the questions that needs to be answered positively, for Mayama x Rika to work eventually.

  5. I really had to get that song out of my head you know…It was playing a lot and thank God, I finally found the images to match it from the raws. =p

  6. It takes time to heal a wound and with Mayama’s Super Love Love TLC, Rika will get over Harada in no time and RikaxMayama will live happily ever after.
    **Just kidding**
    I mean seriously, I think Rika will never forget Harada because he played such an important part in her life but at least Mayama can actually give her some reasons to re-consider following Harada. From Ep4, Rika actually realised how tormented Mayama is from this unrequited love thingy and IMHO again I think Rika might just live on for him because she understands what its like to lose someone that they love. It won’t be easy on Rika because there’s no love and more guilt but maybe eventually she’ll learn to let go and love again. It sounds sad and cheesy at the same time but I don’t see why its not possible.
    I’d rather it happened this way than to see Rika join Harada on the other side by Ep13! Hopefully Rika x Mayama will be a couple and that I’m not off topic….

  7. in fact i want some more episodes about the love triangle of rika,mayama and yamada i like the episodes if its like that but mayama loves rika but i don’t thinkso rika cares she always escape from mayama and mayama cares about yamada of not going with nomiya.so will it be mayama and rika or mayama and yamada?,that’s my question.

Leave a Reply

