Because I’m drowning in anime…

Standard

I’m dropping some shows.

  • Utawarerumono

I have been scanning some episode summaries of this one and although it looks interesting, since I’m so far behind now I’d rather wait for it to finish and then read the final reviews. Then maybe I’ll get the batch release, if the ending is good.

  • The Third

Same reason as Utawarerumono.

  • Himawari

I was really excited about this after the first episode, then better anime came along. It looked promising at first, but suddenly I got bored of this one.

  • Coyote Ragtime

I liked the first episode, since it had been awhile since I last saw lots of blood splatter. The last time was, I think it was the mall scene of Ergo Proxy, where people just got killed wherever the proxy passed by. Coyote Ragtime promised lots of action, but I really have this large backlog, and I want to find more time for blogging too. Don’t get me wrong though, I’m not into gory anime.

  • Zero no Tsukaima

I wanted to add this to my weekly fare, but I’m still at episode 14 of xxxholic, episode 2 of Mushishi, I can’t find the time for this probably Harry Potter-ish anime.

On probation:

  • Welcome to the NHK!

Ok, I think episodes 2 and 3 have already established that Satou is a real pervert not only in his mind but in actions. He has very serious issues, but if I all I see is what he does as a pervert and the story doesn’t progress in any way, I’m gonna say Sayonara, NHK!

  • Innocent Venus

I was so eager to blog about this anime at first because it was mecha, and this year there seems to be a dearth of good mecha series. It looks good, better than Zegapain, but it remains to be seen if this will deliver. But why probation? I actually watched the raws, but when I failed to muster enough enthusiasm to write my first impressions even when the subbed version came out, well something has failed to click somewhere.

There’s also another pressing reason why I’m dropping shows left and right. Today my Japanese language teacher handed out the forms for the JLPT exam this December. Now I’ll be taking the level 3 exams, and I still haven’t even mastered the level 4 kanji and grammar. I have to find time for this too, and yes, sacrifices have to be made. I’ll be watching less raws too, ironically. The only raws I’ll be watching would be the raws of Binbou Shimai Monogatari, Ergo Proxy, and another series maybe.

And the backlog? Well, a post on Neon Genesis Evangelion will be out sometime this week or early next week. After NGE, Turn A Gundam and Kimi Ga Nozomu Eien are next in the list. I’ll start on Mushishi again, I hope. Actually, the bulk of my backlog comes from the series collection that my friend gave away sometime ago, since he felt he didn’t need them anymore. The more familiar titles are Last Exile, Wolf’s Rain, Love Hina, and Gunparade March. Looks like 2006 is my busiest year, anime-viewing wise. 🙂

4 responses »

  1. You’re pratically dropping all of the shows I think that deserves to stay. Especially Utawarerumono if you haven’t play the game. The ending is amazing.

  2. I’m not totally dropping all of them. As I said, I might watch some of them again later, if the endings are good. It’s just they’re no longer on my must-watch list anymore.

  3. Well your JLPT exam should be your priority…whatever animes u hold back to watch DON’T hold back Mushishi ^^

Leave a Reply

