Neon Genesis Evangelion 08-09

Standard

Asuka is quite the opposite of Shinji. Confident and aggresive, she is a welcome addition to the stable of Evangelion pilots already in Tokyo-3. Things are more cheerful it seems when she’s around.


Rei’s response to Asuka is well, not too surprising at all. I found it funny at the same time, her almost laconic answer and expressionless face, as if it were normal at all to make friends if ordered to.

Again another one is added to Shinji’s harem–oops, it’s just Asuka moving in Misato’s apartment lol. If Shinji were a real pervert he would have been in heaven.

Ok so that dance thing was a little oh? That’s forgiven, every mecha series must have some eyebrow-raising moment. I mean, in Gundam (or from the series’ I’ve seen so far) most of the time those unbelievably agile mechs return from battle with nary a scratch (except for the extras). Acrobatic Evas shouldn’t be different, right?

If I’m not mistaken, Misato and Kaji’s kissing sequence might have been the first I’ve seen a making out scene in an elevator in anime.

And yeah, it’s getting harder and harder to stop at an episode or two. It’s going to take more willpower now not to marathon the rest of the series. Who knows, the next post might be Neon Genesis Evangelion 10-26. =p

8 responses »

  1. “Asuka is quite the opposite of Shinji. Confident and aggresive, she is a welcome addition to the stable of Evangelion pilots already in Tokyo-3. Things are more cheerful it seems when she’s around.”

    You nearly made me laugh out loud with that comment…^_^

    Things are never what they seem to be in EVA. Do keep updating your comments after an episode or two. I am enjoying reading your comments, and it brings back good memories from two years ago… Please control yourself. You will miss things if you rush through the episodes too quickly.

  2. I agree with Vallen Chaos, things are never what they seem in NEG.

    Neon Genesis was one (or was the) first anime that I bought on DVD. I had been watching Dragon Ball and NEG is like 180 degrees from DBZ. I literally owe my anime addiction to that show.

  3. You guys made me log back in…

    @Vallen Chaos Valiant

    Ok, so when I finish Evangelion I might want to delete all my posts lol.

    >>Please control yourself.

    Hahaha I will thank Kimi Ga Nozumo Eien for temporarily grabbing my attention from NGE and stop myself from marathoning it…

    @j.valdez

    I’m quite the opposite–DBZ was the show that got me hooked into anime so many years ago =p

  4. Just wondering, who do you guys like better: Rei or Asuka? I liked Rei much more in the Anime, even though she has that…secret, though Asuka just rulz in re-take (well, Asuka is sorta disturbed as well, but..)

    ~Sigh~

    I wanna watch those new eva movies now…and yes, please keep posting I absolutely love reading your posts, even though it only distracts me from daily horrows for about 30 seconds =)

  5. “I thought she just missed her mama… ”

    Oh, yes, she does. But do you know “why”?^_^

    It would be many episodes before we would get to that, though, so just file that info away and go back to it later, when you have more to work with.

    And please, do try to resist watching too many new episodes at once, as hard as it might be.^_^;

  6. “I thought she just missed her mama… ”

    Oh, yes, she does. But do you know “why”?^_^

    She’s doing good that it’s not a scream of terror.
    A Rule of Thumb: Any Eva pilot that is not batshit crazy is dead meat.

Leave a Reply

