My Top 5 Anime for 2006 v5.0

Standard

While I’m not yet sleepy, I guess I’ll put this out. Ok, (how many times have I said this) 3rd to the last rankings post for 2006? Counting…


The Top 5

#1 Honey and Clover II

My 2nd most awaited show of the year is over. A rewatch is in schedule.

#2 Ouran High School Host Club

The ending wasn’t impressive, but over-all the series is good enough to be second best to H&C II.

#3 NANA

Whoa!!! NANA makes a comeback from the jaws of boredom! I like it now that the drama seems to have gone a notch higher. Poor Nobu.

#4 Death Note

From the first four episodes this series really deserved its hype. Now I hope it won’t drag until the end.

#5 School Rumble Ni-Gakki

I’ll pretend I only saw the good episodes. This show will stay at this spot.

Special Mention

  • Simoun – I was wondering why it got so many good reviews. So I decided to ‘investigate’ and true enough, it is a good watch. This series could be deserving of the most overlooked show of the year. Some crappy shows get good subbers but a decent show like Simoun gets the cold shoulder. And I’m guilty of doing the same, since I assumed it would be another fanservice-laden show.

New Series

Since I don’t have the time (and energy) to make individual posts for these shows, I’ll just summarize my thoughts here.

  • Asatte no Houkou – I have a feeling I’ll get bored with this show later on.
  • Black Lagoon 2nd Barrage – The crew is back, and I’m glad.
  • Buso Renkin – This show about alchemy seems decent, but I’m not really in the mood for another shounen-type show in my schedule. Dropped.
  • Code Geass – Ok, when was that Pizza Hut shot supposed to appear? I missed it, apparently. On a serious note, this has the potential to be the most decent mecha show this year.
  • D Grayman – It’s better than Buso Renkin, but I’m also not in the mood for this one.
  • Hataraki Man – I think the first episode was ok, so maybe I’ll keep watching this.
  • Kanon – I’m having difficulty finishing the first episode. Perhaps I never will, I’m not the target audience of this show after all. Now if this series really had sad mechs in snow instead of sad girls in snow then perhaps I might reconsider.
  • Pumpkin Scissors – I’m not that excited about the blonde girl (see how I’ve forgotten her name). But Oland’s mysterious unit really ignites my interest.
  • Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge – Now I never really thought about picking this show up, until my friend recommended I watch it (she reads the manga). In my eyes it’s not as funny as Ouran, and the guys’ lips are too thick they’re minus points. But the ‘goth goth loli loli’ chant kept playing in my head like a last song syndrome, so yeah, I’ll be watching this.

Other 2006 series I’m following:

  • FLAG – I’m getting the hang of the camera shots now.
  • Gundam SEED C.E.73 -STARGAZER – No progress on this front.
  • Night Head Genesis – I was almost finished with my catch-up mission when that mishap happened. I don’t know when I’ll get to watch an episode again.
  • Innocent Venus – I was gonna do a marathon this week, but if my hard disk isn’t wiped out I will finish this.
  • Le Chevalier d’Eon – I like where this show is going so far, but I hope it doesn’t drag later on like that other Production IG show that I finished some time ago.

Dropped

Other shows finished:

  • Jyu Oh Sei
  • Fate/Stay Night
  • Binbou Shimai Monogatari
  • Ergo Proxy
  • Honey and Clover II
  • Ouran High School Host Club
  • Strawberry Panic
  • xxxHolic

6 responses »

  1. Why am I reading posts with expressions like “Pumpkin Scissors” in them! I assume you meant pumpkin seeds but didn’t bother to proof read your own post. “Seeds” and “Scissors” aren’t even that close. Also, I’m surprised that there are even five animations from Iceland at all never mind a “top” five.

Leave a Reply

