Cute Proxy’s 2006 Favorites

Standard

Well, my internet connection has improved but it’s still only 25-50% from it’s original speed. So I’ll post this first part of a rankings post for the year 2006.

Let’s start!

Most Hated/Annoying Character/s

  1. Emiya Shirou (Fate/Stay Night) – Kill Shirou!! Kill Shirou!! ‘Nuff said.
  2. Gora (Innocent Venus) – He was annoying at first, but became less annoying in the later part of the series. That’s why he’s number 2.

Favorite Male Characters

  1. Watanuki Kimihiro (xxxHolic) – Watanuki’s antics and his cooking really entertain me!
  2. Light (Death Note) – Sure he thinks like he’s a god, but you have to admire him for his intelligence.
  3. Ginko (Mushishi) – He’s one-eyed, but that doesn’t take anything from his appeal!
  4. Lelouch (Code Geass) – I really liked his character in the first few episodes of Code Geass. I’ve only seen super-talented pilots (think Gundam), and it was the first I’ve seen somebody who’s also a good strategist.

If you’re wondering why there’s no Morita, well, he’s not as funny as he was in the first season of Honey and Clover, but that’s to be expected. So he sort of loses out to the guys above this time around.

Favorite Female Characters

  1. Haruhi Fujioka (Ouran High School Host Club) – I really like that laid-back attitude of hers.
  2. Sunako (Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge) – Yeah! Somebody who likes black and horror! I love that chibi Sunako!
  3. Hagumi Hanamoto (Honey and Clover II ) – Hagu is cute and talented. Can’t say anymore than that!
  4. Eri Sawachika (School Rumble Ni Gakki) – I almost forgot about Eri!
  5. Revy (Black Lagoon) – Two-Hands rounds out this list.

I didn’t include my fave Marimite soeurs here because I consider the Marimite OVAs as more of a 2007 show. Oh well, can’t wait for next year!

Cutest Characters

  1. Neviril (Simoun) – Pink was never this good!! She exudes that certain regal presence, and beats out Pino in the number one spot for cute characters.
  2. Pino (Ergo Proxy) – Pino!! Kawaii!! One of the inspirations for my blog’s name. 🙂

Favorite OP

  1. kiri (Ergo Proxy) – I was having LSS with this song for weeks…No contest.
  2. 19sai (xxxHolic) – I love how this song seems to perk me up when I watch xxxHolic.
  3. Fugainaiya (Honey and Clover II ) – At first I actually didn’t like this song, but as I listened to it I began to really like it.
  4. the WORLD (Death Note) – The first time I heard it, it reminded me of Latin dance songs. Ok, I’ll admit, something along the lines of Livin’ La Vida Loca or something like that.

Favorite ED

  1. Shissou(Ouran High School Host Club) – This song feels nostalgic. I like the lyrics.
  2. Split (Honey and Clover II ) – This song really makes you feel the end of Honey and Clover II.

Favorite Line

  1. Goth goth loli loli – What else?

Surprise of the year

  1. Simoun – I never expected Simoun to be a good watch. It exceeded my low expectations, perhaps that’s why I was so surprised with this show. Although, I still have some complaints about it, and this show is not mainstream type.

I wanted to post some pics too, especially of Neviril and Sunako and Watanuki. However, it’s a pain just waiting for my upload page to finish loading, so maybe I’ll be able to post pics next year, and maybe also update some rankings. By then, I hope my DSL connection will be back to normal.

Also, the series rankings post might come out next year, as I’m still not finished with Muteki Kanban Musume, Zegapain, NHK ni Youkoso, and MOSH. I don’t know if I can still get to finish Mai Otome. But I’ve already finished Zero no Tsukaima and Noein. I really like Baron!! So cute, makes me wanna buy a dog…

4 responses »

  1. Oooh, your choices are great! Especially the character ones: You have featured Fujioka Haruhi, Sunako, Pino, Hagu (!), Ginko and Light! We seem to have the same tastes when it comes to that *hrr* The only “reservation” I could have is against Neviril; I didn’t watch Simoun, but I prefer Aelle over Neviril *hrr*

  2. I would have put Pino as cutest character and added Marie from Tonagura!, that’s my ever so humble opinion. Now that you mention it, Fujioka would be my favorite female character as well as well.

    Yay, Hagu!

    I can’t seem to get into Simoun. I’ll give it another try.

    One last time but that’s it!

  3. Simoun’s appeal is not mainstream, but I enjoyed episode 3 (Aeru/Aelle and Limone’s ‘adventure’). That’s when I really started liking this show, but don’t expect anything really extraordinary. Hope you finish it! =p

Leave a Reply

