In Review: Turn A Gundam

Standard

Actually, I’m having difficulty right now trying to explain this show. Now move over, Gundam Wing, Turn A Gundam is now my favorite Gundam show.

Fran Doll, Keith, and Loran Cehack are members of the Moon Race–humans who live on the moon. The Moon Race intend to go back and live on Earth. For this the three are sent on a mission to infiltrate Earth and do observation. Loran goes to Vicinity, where he becomes a driver for the Heim family. While Loran is attending the Coming of Age Ceremony in Vicinity, the Moon Race attack Earth. During the attack, the White Doll where Loran and Sochie Heim stand on crumbles and a white mobile suit with a beard is revealed. (c. 1999 Rating: Above Average)

What can I say? Laura Rola!!!

This series has the habit of surprising me at one point or another. There were many instances where you could really mock this show, but in the end I couldn’t help but love it. Why? The characters’ actions might look stupid, there are characters that really are stupid and laughable, but in the end, somehow, I became fond of them. I mean, the characters really change over time. At first I thought, ok, these people are stupid. But then I realized, they were just acting the way they were supposed to. Their dilemmas are real (though some could have been self-inflicted lol).

  • Animation at 0.50/0.75. Awful looking mecha. If you’re looking for flashy Gundams and mobile suits, watch Gundam SEED/SEED Destiny. I dare say Turn A is better than SEED crap story-wise, although I’m assuming a lot of people will have a hard time watching (or even finishing) Turn A Gundam.
  • Characters at 1/1. I hereby declare Dianna Soriel as my favorite female Gundam character of all time! Kihel Heim might come a close second. Oh I love their switching act! Loran Cehack and Harry ‘Bug Eye’ Ord are my favorite male characters.
  • Music at 0.50/0.75. Binetsu ga, samenai mama…Zzzz…But seriously, it was a very nice song they played while they showed what the characters were doing after the war.
  • Story/Plot/Dialogue at 1/1. This show doesn’t make you feel that they’re having a war just to show off their shiny new mobile suits. The war doesn’t feel senseless. The series actually kept me wondering which major character were to die. And it had a good ending. Poor Sochie.
  • Entertainment value at 1.5/1.5. I feel so bad right now that I cannot post pics; perhaps a separate post in the future will rectify this. That is, if I remember to post it. Believe me, this show will make you laugh, and the ending might just make you a little sad it’s over.

Rating: 4/5

Anyway, if you’re looking for a character-driven mecha show, this is for you. But if you’re not into mechs, you might want to skip, or just ignore the mechs altogether lol.

12 responses »

  1. Indeed, it must feel very lonely with a life like that. But I guess Sochie’s situation also made the ending bittersweet–not everyone can be happy. There will always be the have-nots, and that’s why Turn A’s ending is so moving. It really shows that the people moved on with their lives, and Sochie just got unlucky.

  2. I’m glad I’m not alone in liking this series. Loran is a fresh breath from most of the other Gundam heroes, all of whom are usually a rip-off of Amuro Ray (Gundam 0079). I’d actually go as far as saying that Turn-A Gundam is better than Zeta Gundam, something which certain hard-core Gundam fans would kill me for saying.

    • I don’t know if Loran and Dianna were really a couple. Perhaps they just really understand each other that well. As for Sochie, I don’t think she’d fit in with the world that Loran and Dianna have built for themselves.

  3. I just watched this entire series in about 5 days while I was sick. I must say, this was probably my favorite series as well. The way that they tied together all previous time-lines was really something; especially how they went with the After War era as what actually happened in the past, instead of there being only one dropped colony. It’s a shame that it was only recently licensed to be dubbed in English; this would have been a wonderful series to air on Toonami when that was still around.

  4. Okay, not bad… But kinda bored with a hell lot of fillers and lack of balanced action, the ending battle was great tough. Should have make the Earthrace civilization in 70”s or 80’s…
    The mecha design was damn horrible…

    Story was quite good, but for me this Gundam series should have make only 25 episodes per season (like 00), 40+ – 50 is too much.

  5. Hello,

    0.5 + 1 + 0.5 + 1 + 1.5 = 4.5 🙂

    It feels more like a Ghibli production than a Gundam series – looks rather odd and weird at first but to those who are patient it rewards you in the end. Some characters may seem strange too but this is a series where even the minor secondary characters change.

    Turn A Gundam is the greatest departure from the Gundam franchise. That turned out to be a great decision. It gets rid of the usual Earth vs Colony/ Organization vs World Powers plot and instead the plot revolves around an odd relationship between the Earthrace and the Moonrace who are neither truly at war nor at peace. Turn A’s plot is rarely predictable. It always goes through the road less travelled and the views seem more beautiful after: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFtl2MyfpGI&feature=related

    • Good catch! 😀

      >>Turn A Gundam is the greatest departure from the Gundam franchise. That turned out to be a great decision.

      I agree.

      >>Turn A’s plot is rarely predictable.

      Maybe that’s one reason why it’s so unique as a show from the Gundam franchise.

Leave a Reply

