My Top Anime for 2006: Final Version

Standard

Happy New Year everyone!

I found making this list quite difficult…The top five was easy, but listing the rest was quite a recall exercise lol. There were shows I thought didn’t belong in 2006 but did–so I had to do some research. This is my punishment for watching too many shows. I also didn’t bother to look up my ratings on the shows I wrote a review on, as I didn’t give some shows ratings. Another thing is that I decided to include the good shows but still haven’t finished. They are just inserted where they might have been ranked had they ended. As for my unfinished backlog they’ll just get inserted whenever I finish them. Now on to the list.

  • Innocent Venus #21

I was quite disappointed with this show. I am glad I didn’t blog it, otherwise it would have been a waste of my time. Ugly 3D mechas, ugly villains, a loli, argh. There’s nothing significant about this anime, although it has a story.

  • Fate/stay night #20

This show started out fine for me, until Shirou became unbearable, a male lead who is not worthy of sympathy. If you watch this, just look at Saber and not her master.

  • Binbou Shimai Monogatari #19

Omigosh it’s rated higher than FSN! If you don’t try to think much about this show, you’ll find that it can be relaxing. There’s actually no character to hate in this show, unlike in FSN.

  • Blood+ #18

There is a penalty for stretching a series. Blood+ should’ve been rated higher, but then I remembered the pain of sitting through 50 episodes and thus I relegated this series here.

  • Night Head Genesis (Dropped)

The series started out fine, until the ‘Naoto! Naoya!’ became too irritating. It’s still in the freezer though.

  • NHK ni Youkoso!

What is this doing here?? Ahh I actually don’t like stories of hopelessness, but it’s fun at times so I’ll give this series a chance. Besides, I cheated by reading a summary of the ending. And the ending was pretty acceptable to me.

  • Gundam SEED C.E.73 STARGAZER #17

I think the ending was nice, quite more believable and touching than the Gundam Seed Destiny ending.

  • Soukou no Strain

I liked the way they killed off characters in the beginning because it showed they had the ‘political will’ lol. The mech fights were also amazing, and I was looking forward to more. Until they decided to put in more fanservice than was needed in the story. I have no idea where the story is going, I just hope they end this decently.

  • ZEGAPAIN

I’m so glad I picked this show again. While the mecha are not really awesome, the interesting characters and story make up for it. It certainly was worth the length of 26 episodes, and it has it’s ‘wow’ moments (although it doesn’t include the mecha).

  • Saiunkoku Monogatari

I am half-expecting protests from the SaiMono fans on this ranking. But I base my rankings on my enjoyment of a series, and I haven’t exactly gone gaga over SaiMono. It has an excellent story though, that’s for certain. I’m still not quite used to the historical genre without a lot of martial arts action scenes.

  • Strawberry Panic #16

I must be drunk…Wait, let me explain. One word: Shizuma.

  • Hanbun no Tsuki ga Noboru Sora #15

The story of a boy and a girl falling in love while they are hospital patients is a nice one. I don’t remember the characters’ names now, but still the show made such lasting impressions that I still remember it.

  • Jyu Oh Sei #14

The laughable 2nd half of the show was not enough to dampen my fondness for Jyu Oh Sei. But it still pretty decent show in my eyes, and the show doesn’t stretch needlessly either. That’s what matters.

  • Red Garden

I’m taking a leap of faith and assuming Red Garden will end nicely. That doesn’t mean I approve of the singing though.

  • Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge

Goth goth, loli loli. That phrase kept playing in my head for days like LSS. This should have been ranked higher but I absolutely hate those wannabe cute guys. Kyohei et al are not cute, Sunako should kill them all! I really like Sunako in this comedy, but alas her male harem is not as appealing as Fujioka Haruhi’s.

  • Code Geass Hangyaku no Lelouch

Another show, another assumption. Pizza Hut supports the rebellion, but Lelouch is the man who raises the worth of Code Geass for me. He’s like Light, but is surrounded by a bunch of idiots as his supporting cast.

  • The Law of Ueki #13

This was a 2006 show? I didn’t know ^_^; I hadn’t started blogging yet when I started watching this show. Funny characters, ingenious battle tactics, and the plot twists make this show a very interesting and enjoyable watch.

  • FLAG #12

There was nothing to hate about this show, I’ve already overcome my hatred of the ugly mech they’re using. It’s a little sleep inducing at times, but I’m really interested in how this show about war photography ends. I’m already expecting the worst, that our main character, the female photographer Shirasu, will die in the end.

flsg

  • Le Chevalier d’Eon

Assuming this will end nicely #3.

  • Hataraki-Man

Assuming this will end nicely #4.

  • Shakugan no Shana #11

Urusai, urusai, urusai! It may be argued that this show may not be worthy of its ranking, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one. I want melon pan…

  • Zero no Tsukaima #10

Surprise! ZnT is funny, and the fact that I finished this recently must have been an influence on its ranking. This anime just reminds of you of a female Harry Potter, ecchi fans should not miss this one. (But I did not watch this for ecchi part, ok?)

  • Ergo Proxy #9

First impressions last, and a decent ending helps too. If Noein hadn’t been around, I’d label this as the sci-fi and mind-boggling show of the year. No wait, it is the mind-boggling show of the year.

ergo proxy

  • Noein #8

This has the nicest incorporation of 3D images I’ve seen for 2006. It has these impressively grand fight scenes, and if you watch the show for this reason only that would be enough. The sci-fi show of the year, though I still have some questions about it. I absolutely love that dog, Baron.

  • Simoun #7

I earlier crowned this show as the surprise of the year. I was expecting a show full of fanservice and other nonsense, but was taken aback when it turned out to be a show with a nice story and even better characters. The ending left me sad though. The OST is absolutely great, believe me. I might buy one, someday.

  • Black Lagoon #6

Every once in a while we need a show with all the gunfights. Black Lagoon is like a Hollywood (or even Hong Kong-ish) action movie in anime form. I just love to see the unbelievable (and unrealistic) shootouts, really.

black lagoon

  • Death Note

This show lived up to its hype, but it remains to be seen if this will stay on the top 5 rankings for all of 2007.

  • NANA

This has gone from boring to becoming a potential great tragic drama. I can feel a very sad ending in the air, that’s why right now I dread watching more of NANA. Why oh why did I become attracted to this slice of life show?

  • xxxHOLiC #5

Another series that is not your ‘usual’ anime fare (or at least to me). I have no other excuse for putting this show here except that I like Watanuki very much. The animation quality might be a little turn off, but I don’t mind really.

  • Mushishi #4

Another series that didn’t start in 2006, that’s why it was never in my previous top 5 rankings. I’m making up for it now. This is a show for those tired of the ‘usual’ anime fare. The mostly standalone episodes are touching stories of ordinary humans and their interactions with the strange creatures called mushi.

  • Eureka 7 #3

Eureka Seven is the best mecha show for 2006. It is a must-watch for any mecha fan. Period.

  • Honey and Clover II #2

Biggest surprise of all! I take back my word on H & C II as my top 1 anime of the year 2006. Why? I realized that I had been blinded by my love of the first season, and that there was another series that was err, more fresh.

hagu and morita

  • Ouran High School Host Club #1

Deep inside I know the ending sucks a little, but it was not enough to take away the happiness I felt while watching this show. It feels so refreshing watching Ouran. For some reason, this show just stands out for me. It could be the comedy, it could the characters, it could be the great OP and ED, I can’t pinpoint it exactly. I’ll just quote my review then: In my eyes it was a novel concept that stood out.

ouran

Show not yet finished watching

  • Mai-Otome
  • Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu
  • Muteki Kanban Musume

Notorious for not having finished the first episode

  • Chocotto Sister
  • Project Blue SOS
  • Kanon
  • Tsuyokiss

Dropped

  • Air Gear
  • Amaenaideyo!! Katsu!!
  • Ayakashi Ayashi
  • Asatte no Houkou
  • Bakumatsu Kikansetsu Irohanihoheto
  • Bartender
  • Buso Renkin
  • D Grayman
  • Good Witch of the West
  • Higurashi no Naku Koro Ni
  • Himawari
  • KIBA
  • Night Head Genesis
  • Powerpuff Girls Z
  • Pumpkin Scissors
  • RAY THE ANIMATION
  • REC
  • School Rumble Ni Gakki
  • The Third
  • Utawarerumono
  • 009-1

I guess this ends my oh-so-long list. I’ll add more as I finish any 2006 series. I don’t think I’m gonna do another list this long for 2007 lol. And since my internet connection is still slow, I might post pics only later.

Edit: There was a sentence that I didn’t finish but I only found out a day later grrr.

01.14.07: Dropped Night Head G, finished Zegapain.

20 responses »

  1. I was about to rant you out for not lasting through Kanon, but then I forgave you, because we are kindred in dropping Tsuyokiss in the first episode. That show was a piece of garbage…

  2. you dropped higurashi AND school Rumble, and havent finished haruhi suzumiya, AND put Ouran in number 1, interesting tastes, oh well i alosa have weird tastes.

  3. I have my reasons:

    Higurashi – too violent for my tastes

    School Rumble – couldn’t stomach the subber

    Haruhi – just can’t hold interest for long

    Ouran – definitely refreshing
    🙂

  4. I can see why you dropped kiba
    i nearly did but i started to get a bit more interesting
    although because you dropped it you wouldnt really understand the rest of the series. no offense

  5. thanks for the review it really help…but i prefer nana to be my top over ouran high school…and by the way…utawarerumono is pretty good anime too

  6. I’m surprised people liked Ouran so much. I heard it was a success but to be 1st on your list.
    I just finished watching Code Geass, it was very nice. Mechas in general are a little overused but Lulu is just too cool for me to dislike it and the mechas aren’t the main point so I deal.
    Nice list by the way. I will make sure to check out the top choices I haven’t seen yet.

  7. @Lindsey

    If you’re okay with mecha, Eureka 7 is also quite good. The mecha is not the main point also, but you’ll have to deal with an annoying brat for a while lol.

  8. I agree with Ouran being first, it is that great. Not only is it funny, but you actually learn to care about all of the main characters, an amazing feat with such a large main cast. I do think you should finish Bakumatsu, it gets a lot better later on. And the hospital anime was beautiful, one of my favorites in a long time.

  9. hi! great list!
    although i like tsuyokiss and school rumble.
    oh, and i see you’re watching mai-otome and the melancholy of haruhi suzumiya.
    those are both cool anime too.
    anyways, this was very helpful.
    i got to browse more anime i’d like to watch in the future. ^__^

  10. definitely ouran perfect spot in my opinion^^ lulu’s supporting cast are a bit wierd but you have to admit cc is great^^ Zero’s ecchiness😄 saito’s so cute and is unlike most anime guys^^ doesn’t blush with girls he just goes for it ^^

  11. Im Glad You Put Ouran First I Thought The Animation Of It Was Really Good Especially The Voice Actors! You Do Get Attached To The Characters The Plot Is Also Really Good. The Only Thing That Upsets Me Is That More Likely Haruhi Will End Up With Tamaki Which Totally Gives It A Way And Abandons Hikaru:( And Yes The Ending Wasnt All That Good. We Have Similar Tastes But Some Down Falls. I really Liked DeathNote Which Would Have Been My Second. Im Reading Kuroshitsuji And I Like It So Far. If You Have Reconmendations It Would Be Great🙂 ]
    DeathNote
    Ouran High School Host Club
    Elfien Lied

Leave a Reply

