My Top 5 Anime for 2007 v2.0

Standard

Newcomers in the top five! And ‘current faves’ lists!

The Top 5

#1 NANA

Still in top position. I actually have no idea how the series ended as the subs are slow, but I’m also not interested in spoiling myself either. There’s not a show from spring 2007 that has potential to challenge NANA yet (though Claymore is getting close), but we’ll see, there’s still summer and fall hehehe.

#2 Claymore

Okay, it really started with the Slashers arc. After seeing episode 9, I couldn’t wait a whole week for another episode–and ended up reading the conclusion to the fight in the manga. But then I couldn’t stop my curiosity anymore and ended up reading about the next two arcs. Darn, it’s taking a lot of willpower NOT to read about the war in the north. Claymore is just too awesome now to ignore.

#3 Saiunkoku no Monogatari

Finally breaks into the top five, but for season 1 only. I hate the new animation sequence in the OP of season 2. And I also don’t like the new ED.

#4 Code GEASS

A mecha show must be on this list. So far, the spring challengers to CG’s throne as best mecha show have failed to impress. But it still hasn’t stopped CG’s slide in the rankings.

#5 Nodame Cantabile

Still stuck in last position. I don’t think this series is gonna rise any higher, it hasn’t delivered anything substantial so far. I guess it would not be good to expect anything more from this show. But I loved episode 11, probably the best episode so far for me.

Other Contenders

  • Moonlight Mile

Every episode there’s always the feeling of ‘what’s gonna happen next? what? what?’ But that’s good, because it means it wouldn’t be boring at all. Now if only something more dramatic happens in this show…

  • Seirei no Moribito

I really, really like the animation of this one. I also like Chagum very much, he’s not annoying, is not a crybaby, and is not spoiled. I hope the story keeps up like the animation. 🙂

  • Lovely Complex

Poor Risa, going through that harrowing ride known as the ‘confession.’ Still, how this series is remembered will depend on how it ends.

  • Hayate no Gotoku!

This was actually in my original top 5 list for this post, but lately the laughs haven’t been all that many. It is fun just trying to catch what series or character the show would parody, but after that, then what? It was never as crazy as the first season of School Rumble though, so perhaps it might never enter the top 5 formally.

  • Death Note

Out of the top five, and unwatched eps are languishing in the hard disk. I really have gotten bored with the show.

  • Toward Terra

This show is quite decent, it still manages to hold my interest despite the absence of the main character Jomy. The introduction of an interesting character as Keith is nice, and adds a little more spice. I’m hoping for more and better episodes of this show.

  • Ookiku Furikabute

I have been watching the raws because at the rate the subs are going, they might finish next year lol. Anyway, my only disadvantage is that it’s harder to understand with the baseball lingo.

As for the other shows, haven’t watched a lot at all because of the manga craze that’s gotten over me. But still I’ve managed to make another list of sorts. Read on.

Current Favorite Male Characters

  1. Yoshimori (Kekkaishi) – Yoshimori’s cute when he’s making sweets. ^_^;
  2. Chagum (Seirei no Moribito) – He’s such a good kid. Lucky Mommy Balsa. 🙂

Current Favorite Female Characters

  1. Teresa (Claymore) – Too bad she only shows up in a few episodes.
  2. Balsa (Seirei no Moribito) – Nice voice, even better combat skills.

I wanted to add Galatea (again from Claymore), but Ophelia’s arc hasn’t even aired yet. Tsk tsk tsk…

Current Favorite Series OP

  1. Hero’s Come Back (Naruto Shippuden)
  2. Raison d’Etre (Claymore)
  3. Shalala Ayakashi Night (Kekkaishi)

Current Favorite Series ED

  1. Danzai no Hana~Guilty Sky (Claymore)
  2. a little pain (NANA)

17 responses »

  1. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  2. I recently started watching Seto no Hanayome. It’s fregg’in hilarious.

    I’m glad to see that Nodame is on the list. I think it’s getting better. I think Nodame is even maturing a little, no?

  3. Hm, I’d have to say action looks to be your thing.
    May I suggest watching Darker Than BLACK or Gurren Lagann? They’re both quite interesting.

  4. Yup, have to agree with all the claymore stuff – so far I’ve been able to resist reading the manga but don’t think it will be long til I crack!

    good list, shown me some series i’ve not heard of yet!

  5. Sorry about the late reply guys, I’m still stuck at work ^_^;

    @jef

    Well, if I may say, mecha is my most favorite genre, followed by slice of life, then shounen (which you can say mecha might be under, I’m not very sure about the genre divisions though). You can also add comedy and sci-fi.

    Anyway, another reason is that there are more action-oriented shows out there than slice of life or comedy. So I watch whatever pricks my interest, but see a lot of action series because there are more to choose from.

    @j.valdez

    I forgot what Seto was all about. Anyway, I can’t pick up more shows because I already have a backlog even on the spring shows @_@

    @AkiraMan, jstc

    Actually, this is formal list of shows that I follow:

    Bokurano, Claymore, Code Geass, Darker than Black, Death Note, Kekkaishi, Kishin Taisen Gigantic Formula, Idolmaster XENOGLOSSIA, Hayate the Combat Butler, Heroic Age, Moonlight Mile, NANA, Naruto, Nodame Cantabile, Romeo x Juliet, Seirei no Moribito, Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge.

    I update them here: https://cuteproxy.wordpress.com/anime-index/the-conquests/

    But I still have a backlog on Xenoglassia, so can’t say anything about it yet. I dropped Gurenn Lagann, and I totally forgot about about Darker than BLACK. ^_^;

    @Kuchi

    Yeah, Claymore rules the class of spring anime 2007!

    But that could be because I know what happens in the manga, which is awesome to the max!! 🙂

  6. Yay, I’m glad to see that NANA is still on your Top 5. Unfortunately, after my Europe trip I haven’t invested one second in watching anime on the computer (except for when I’m exercising – that’s reserved for Saiunkoku Monogatari), and I haven’t been missing it that much, either. Your posts are helping me a little, and maybe in a week I’ll feel good enough to start blogging again. Well, I’m glad to see that you’re still interested. Hopefully I’ll get out of this apathetic mood and do something constructive with the blog soon. Hope you’re having a good day. 🙂

  7. WAHH..u actually replied this time :D..

    hmm..seems like u really kno wut ur talkin about..sorry i didn’t see

    the fav. genre part for ur thing

    list: Beck: Mongolian chop squad. ( 06′)
    The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
    zero no tsukaima
    Sola

  8. @Kuchi

    There’s really not much to lose if you read the manga–except maybe lose some sleep if you can’t wait anymore for the next release (or episode of the anime) 🙂

    @Maya

    Lucky you, you were able to go on a vacation to Europe–right now I can only dream of some sort of vacation. Work is just so demanding right now, I can’t even spare time to go out and watch a movie. ^_^;

    @jef

    Oh maybe I forgot to reply on some posts ^_^;

  9. my top 7 is pretty flippin’ sweet
    ( in no particular order)
    1.)samurai champloo
    2.)Paradise Kiss
    3.)xxxHolic
    4.)Ouran High School Host ClubG
    5.) Ghost Hunt
    6.) Mushishi
    7.) Full Metal Panic, 1,2, and Fumoffu

Leave a Reply

