State of the Proxy, June 2007

Standard

Another update on yours truly, and some comments on Claymore and on summer anime 2007.

First off, RL issues have been plaguing me for months now. It does have an effect on the blogging schedule. Now, more often than not, I find myself in the office on a Saturday or Sunday. Mind you, it’s not because I sought airconditioned rooms in light of the summer season; I’m not the type who likes to stay in the office when my work is done already. I really was stressed–and add to that minor health issues that probably are worsened by the fact I sit in front of a PC more than 8 hours a day. And I’m not yet watching anime. And so before I babble on things you might not want to know, I’ll go on to the next topic.

Claymore

I’m really glad that Claymore is getting a lot of attention these days. I actually finished reading all the scanlated chapters of the manga 2 weeks ago, and I was absolutely infatuated with series. It took a lot of willpower not to read the manga, but my resolve broke; I read as much and as fast as I could. I even re-read some chapters–especially the part where the hilarious and awesome fight between Galatea and Duph occured. (It’s a spoiler but I’m not saying anymore details, so don’t be angry.) But what prompted this mention? Omni just declared his intention of blogging Claymore. I’m quite happy the series is getting more coverage now. I was actually thinking of a post pimping Claymore; but I think Omni, with his bigger readership will be more successful in getting more love for this show. Now the only thing I’m praying for is that the animators don’t screw up in the later parts–especially after the Ophelia arc. And there better be no damn fillers in the way. 🙂

Summer Anime 2007

When I read Omni’s descriptions of the list of shows for summer 2007, I decided I wouldn’t be watching any of them. Frankly, none of them appealed that much to me. I am not fond of game adaptations, and some series’ screenshots don’t help either. Rather, I wanted to lessen that backlog of mine–and also get more time for blogging. But then I changed my mind, so if a decent subber shows up I’ll try the first few episodes of these shows:

  • Tetsuko no Tabi – about a manga-ka and an otaku + somebody and trains. We’ll see how this turns out.
  • Zero no Tsukaima ~Futatsuki no Kishi~ – this is probably gonna have loads of brainless fun but I managed to finish the first season–unlike Muteki Kanban Musume that got the freezer treatment. Perhaps this is what I need after watching all those ‘heavy’ shows.
  • Miyori no Mori – It’s supposed to be slice of life, other than that I don’t know anything else. But since I’ve already acquired the taste for anything slice of life, I’m taking a look at this one.

The Anime Blogosphere

Just recently, Os of Karoshi just quit the blogging scene. It’s such a waste, but I hope the new blood will also be able to provide us with interesting posts. As for me, I won’t be quitting anytime soon. Yes, there were times I entertained the thought of getting another writer for this blog, so that it gets updated. There were times I couldn’t update even when I wanted to. But those times seem to come in cycles, so I probably would be able go on without getting burned out. Hopefully.

Blogging Schedule

For the reasons cited in the first paragraph of this post, updates will be erratic (but wait, since did I post regularly? LOL). I’m still trying to find the perfect mood, and I’ll try to avoid overtime as much as possible now hehehe. I probably won’t be picking up any shows and try to make summaries, unless they suddenly air the new Macross series–and if that happens I’m gonna be all over it hahaha. Readers or no readers. =p

Anyway, I’ll try my best to finish reviews and articles languishing somewhere on my desktop and hidden on my hard drive partitions.

Till next post, ja!

2 responses »

  1. That’s ok if you don’t read the manga, perhaps you’ll find what happens more exciting and surprising since you don’t know what’s gonna happen next. For us who read the manga, we’ll always have that extra baggage of comparing the anime adaptation with the manga. ^_^;

Leave a Reply

