This made me LOL

Standard

Ok, so I couldn’t sleep and decided to turn on my PC again. And guess what made my day today? (At 12 AM Philippine time.) Somebody asked, When Will The Harem Anime Genre Die?”. My thoughts? Although I won’t shed a tear of sadness if it does get wiped out from the face of the Earth, I think this genre is here to stay. I remember when I was still in school, I rented Tenchi Muyo In Love and I didn’t even know what harem was (or any anime genre for that matter). I thought at that time it was a pretty decent show. Even I was surprised that Suzuka was classified as harem, and yet it was quite watchable. But then they’re the exceptions for me, most of the time I avoid harem shows while I can. Still I know that for a lot of folks harem shows are enjoyable, and there’s certainly room for everyone in this hobby of watching anime. 🙂

For the link to the AnimeNation News’ Ask John article, click here.

3 responses »

  1. When Will the Harem Anime Genre Die?!

    Riiight….

    Harem anime will not die. Just like mecha anime will not die or mahou shoujo will not die or any of the other cliched anime sub-genres you’d care to name.

    Now there may be a decrease of these shows in the future, but it will never truly go away.

    Besides, harem is a now listed in one of the top four food — the Romance group I think — and is now a permanent part of most otaku’s anime diet.

    For those who hate; don’t. Just watch something else since there is so much to choose and view in this thing we call anime.

  2. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

