In Review: Rescue Wings

Standard

Lt. Kazuhiro Uchida wanted to be a jet fighter pilot, but ended up in rescue wing. As he struggles with a job he did not aim for, can he accept his fate? (circa 2006. Rating: Above Average)

Animation

JC Staff did a good job on this one. The CG blended quite well, and the helicopters made me drool.

Characters

Most of the focus here is on Kazuhiro himself, though there are some flashbacks to some of the characters at times. There’s nobody that put me off as annoying, though there’s no one I could also deem as a real favorite. Anyway, I’ll remember this for Megumi, Kazuhiro’s girlfriend. Because everytime I hear her talk, Shimako (of Maria-sama ga Miteru) always comes to mind. I know, I watched too much Marimite. @_@

rescuewings

Music

I don’t even remember what the OP or ED sounded like. Ouch.

Story/Plot/Dialogue

Herein lies the faults of Rescue Wings. The series has failed to capitalize to the max on the dramatic potential of rescue operations. With the exception of Kazuhiro’s first mission (as an observer) and its aftermath, nothing truly exceptional came up. Sure Kazuhiro may have ‘settled down’ with his job, but I found the conclusion a little dull.

Entertainment value

I view this series as more of slice of life-like than as a drama. I’ll remember this for the visual treat that it is.

Recommendation

Recommended for its nice animation, and contemporary feel (yeah we’re in the 21st century). Also for those like their anime ‘slow’.

  • Animation at 0.75/0.75.
  • Characters at 0.75/1.
  • Music at 0.50/0.75.
  • Story/Plot/Dialogue at 0.75/1.
  • Entertainment value at 1.25/1.5.
  • Total: 4/5

7 responses »

  1. @Skh

    Yeah, only a few talk about it ‘coz much of the attention goes to shows with lots of action, boobs, or moe. It’s sad but it’s what a lot of otaku (Japanese) like.

    @tjhan

    Yes, perhaps it was your pimping that subconsciously induced me to watch this show. 🙂

  2. Is there any way to get this show in the USA, on DVD maybe….

    Also, was there a live people (non-anime) version on TV? any DVDs?

    Thanks,
    Chris

  3. I enjoyed this series! The technical animation was spot on!
    My only question is why do the Japanese portray the males so immature?
    My greatest regret is this haven’t been subbed into English..

Leave a Reply

