State of the Proxy, December 2007

Standard

My internet connection has been out of commission for weeks–this is the major reason why this blog has not been updated for weeks too.

Aside from that, I’ve finally come back home after a dream-like, vacation-like stay in Japan. Right now it feels like I was never there, except for the pictures and the few mementos that remind me that indeed, I was there for a while.

Since I don’t have internet access for long periods of time, I haven’t had the chance to *cough* watch *cough* the latest subbed episodes of the series I’m watching. So I won’t be having anime progress reports of recent series for some time (unless my connection is back tonight, like a miracle).

There has been a lot of buzz in the internet anime fandom recently (at least in the websites I go to). First has been about the state of the anime industry, and the newly formed ABC (anime blogging community). However, my current predicament has left me with no appettite whatsoever to join in the fray.

The only thing that has kept me from losing my cool and berating the hapless (and probably clueless) customer rep of my ISP is the stash/backlog of anime that I have. I’ve already caught up with on-hold series like Naruto (the eps I couldn’t watch then), and Dennou Coil.

The most notable point would be that I’ve also picked up Tengen Toppa Gurenn Lagann. I can now see why the fanboys are all over it, though I still can’t truly comprehend that ‘GAR’ factor.

For older series I’m also more than halfway through Samurai Champloo, which has been impressive thus far. Another series is Infinite Ryvius, but it has not been as enjoyable as SC.

Still languishing somewhere is Paranoia Agent and Elfen Lied. Frankly, Elfen Lied has left me disappointed after the shock of the first few episodes had worn off. So what if there are flying body parts and blood everywhere? My sympathy for the characters waned after a while and I don’t know when I’ll have the will power to go through the last 4 or 5 eps just so that I could complete the whole thing and be done with it. As for PA well, still not sure I can watch back-to-back episodes without going to sleep.

I guess that’s it for this week’s update. Till next, ja!

Leave a Reply

