Random thoughts on Macross Frontier 01

Standard

What can I say? Lovely. I’m not too sure about the character designs because, somehow, I kept looking for that feeling when I watched the older Macross shows. But that doesn’t mean they’re bad. It’s just the first episode anyway. And when I saw the backs of the characters from the original Macross, I just felt nostalgic. Yeah, I know, it was just their backs lol.

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

On the other hand, the CG reminds me that yes, it is the 21st century, and that Macross has to keep up with the times. But the dogfights were awesome, and they would been more so if the video quality was better. In my head a small voice is whispering ‘Get the DVD, you still have some yen, right?’ Then another says ‘A new Macross figure would do just right.’ The series hasn’t really started yet but already the first episode is making me itch to buy something lol.

Since Omni would probably do the episode summaries, I don’t think I’ll bother anymore with doing my own. And actually, I dread the task of taking screenshots. I’m really lazy. Also, Anime Banzai and ARIA Anime might be doing episode summaries too. Though I wish that nutcase23 of Anime Banzai would also take the time to watch the original Macross series so that he won’t be comparing it to Gundam SEED, or any Gundam show for that matter. Gundam SEED is the real rip-off, really. Akiraman of ARIA Anime, on the other hand, points out the similarities of Macross F to older Macross shows. Even I was not able to catch it, guess I’m not hardcore fan enough.

Aside from the dogfights, what really made my day was the ED. It was a much slower version of ‘Ai, oboeteimasu ka?’ (Do you remember love). It was from the DYRL movie. Which makes me want to rewatch it again. @_@

Anyway, I think I’ll be doing rambling pieces on Macross Frontier. From the looks of it, it’s not going to be Macross 7-style, thankfully. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. @Akiraman

    I actually used to hate that song, then after continuous replay I finally warmed up to it. It was a great salute to the legacy of the original Macross, and the DYRL movie.

Leave a Reply

