Summer 2008 Anime Progress Report

Standard

World Destruction * Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu * Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto-Natsu no Sora * School Rumble SanGakki * Xam’d * Birdy The Mighty Decode * Yakushiji Ryoko No Kaiki Jikenbo * Antique Bakery * Natsume Yuujinchou

I’ve been in catch-up mode lately, with my JLPT study put on hold (which significantly lowers my chances of passing).

  • Natsume Yuujinchou

At first I thought this show might get boring later on, but when I watched the first episode I fell in love with the pace of the show.  Even though the main character is dealing with youkai bent on getting back their names from the Book of Friends, over-all I find the soft colors and atmosphere relaxing. And the funny cat is enjoyable too.

  • Antique Bakery

While I couldn’t stomach Junjou Romantica, I found Antique Bakery the 2nd most entertaining show of the summer crop.  The story makes more sense than JR–I like the side stories of the minor characters actually.  And looking at the cakes just makes me drool.

  • Yakushiji Ryoko No Kaiki Jikenbo

Playful, ridiculously rich, intelligent, sexy–just some of the words that can used to describe the heroine of this show.  Not only is there excellent action and interesting cases to solve, it’s always fun to watch Ryoko and her subordinate’s dialogue.

  • Xam’d

A lot of things in this show just remind me of Eureka 7, from the kids to the ships to the postal crew to the air of mystery around the Xam’d.  Surely anything that has similarities to Eureka would be cool, and deserves to be on my watch list.

  • Birdy The Mighty Decode

Another entertaining show that just reminds me of the wacky Gurren Lagann. I want more…subs.  😀

  • School Rumble San Gakki

I’m happy the gang is back, but unfortunately not as funny as before.  Still worth watching though.

  • Mahou Tsukai ni Taisetsu na Koto-Natsu no Sora

I actually delayed watching this because I wanted to finish the original series.  However it would have taken me longer to finish the latter, so I watched it last night.  And boy, the animation just is top notch!  It’s the best among the summer shows I’ve seen so far.  Where and why did they get such an enormous budget to splurge graphics on?

  • Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu

Not as good as I expected.  If there’s a show that’s most likely to be dropped, this is it.

  • World Destruction

Dropped.  Not as interesting as I thought it would be and the animal characters just don’t appeal to me.

As for the 2008 rankings, I’d probably update it one of these days.  Stay tuned.  🙂

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

