My 2008 Anime Rankings v2.0

Standard

It’s a miracle!  It’s another post!  And the matrix makes a comeback!

Okay, so following the success of the prioritization matrix for ‘divining’ what shows to drop, I decided to try it out on the anime rankings as well.  Guess what?  It works!  I mean, I generate 50% less wrinkles while trying to decide which slot Code Geass 2 should be in, or how to control my mecha love to obtain some sort of objectivity for the top ranking.  Now let’s get to it!

  • Macross Frontier #1

Yeah it manages to eke out ARIA by a slim margin.  I just finished watching the last episode, and before I ramble on, there is only one thing:  I don’t like Ranka.  If this does happen in the movie, maybe my mind will change.  Otherwise, she’s not worthy of succeeding Minmay and Basara.

  • ARIA Origination #2

I was really eyeing this as the top anime, but the matrix ‘betrayed’ me lol.  If no new anime manages to impress more, then the top 2 spots are assured in the final rankings.  Unless the next anime manages to level up.  And I mean…

  • Xam’d #3

There’s a lot of potential here–the Eureka 7 vibes are giving it a boost.  I like the mystery, it’s so like in Eureka 7 where the revelations feel like they just happen at the perfect time.  And I smell a love triangle.  I just love love triangles. 😀

  • Xxxholic Kei #4

Beats Kurenai, I don’t know how that happened lol.  But I suspect it has something to do with the ending.  This series ended well.

  • Kurenai #5

The series was good, but as implied above, I wasn’t 100% satisfied with the ending.  Maybe just 85%.

  • Natsume Yuujincho #6

Relaxing atmosphere, nice stories, nice animation, and a funny cat.  This is what makes this series good in my eyes.

  • Itazura na Kiss #7

Funny, yes.  Intellectually, well I just don’t think about it too much.  What’s important is that I enjoyed this series.

  • Code Geass 2 #8

There are times I hope for the best out of this show. there are times I want to forgive its shortcomings, and there are times I wish they’d just ended at one season.  I haven’t finished this yet, so my final judgement is still to come.

Ah, something to break the monotony of letters

  • Antique Bakery #9

Good thing I didn’t get a craving for the cakes like I had with melon pan.  My diet plan would have been in shambles.  Is there a second season? =p

  • Hayate no Gotoku #10

The Utena spoof comes to mind everytime I think of this show.  There were parts of the show that I didn’t like, but over-all the thing is I still view this show with a little fondness.

  • Freedom #11

I think I talked about this in my previous post.  Too tired write anything new lol.

  • Shion no Ou #12

I really like the OP and the ED.  And the main lady characters, both real and fake.  But I’m amazed how it still beat Gundam 00.

  • Yakushiji Ryoko No Kaiki Jikenbo #13

I just like how Ryoko can do almost anything she wants.  This series isn’t going to be a classic, but well, Ryoko’s antics entertain, don’t they?

  • Kimikiss Pure Rouge #14

It;s only been a few months since this show ended and now I really can’t recall how I felt about this show.  Maybe I’m still not 100% sure how to think about it?

  • Gundam 00 #15

I did a 3-part post series on this.  I don’t know what to say anymore.  ^_^

  • Vampire Knight #16

Ah, the vampires land at the bottom of the pile.  There’s nothing extraordinary about the show, so it’s not really a surprise that it ends up here.

The table of results itself

And since previews of fall anime are out, I’ll list the ones I’m interested in.

  • Casshern Sins – Robots?  I’m in.
  • Kidou Senshi Gundam 00 2nd Season – More robots.  Not sure I’m gonna enjoy this one though.
  • Kurogane no Linebarrels – And more robots!  2008 has certainly been blessed by the gods of mecha😄
  • Kurozuka – It’s all about the pic.  :drool:
  • Mouryou no Hako (Box of Goblins) – Something dark for a change.
  • Nodame Cantabile Paris Chapter – More Nodame!  But I wonder how it would turn out now that I watched the live-action version first.
  • Shikabane Hime Aka – Another ‘dark-themed’ anime.
  • Skip Beat! – It’s not really my type of show but I guess I’ll give this one a try to counter the gloomy series on this list.
  • Tytania – Oh yeah oh yeah the director worked on SDF Macross!  But most of the cast are males and I wonder if I’d get bored with testosterone overdose.  Actually there’s a special preview out now.  At first I was getting Banner/Crest of the Stars vibes, until I heard the upbeat music.  They better have an engaging plot.  Link: Special.

This is probably the second to the last rankings post, unless I get the itch again to post another set of rankings.  Ja!

4 responses »

  1. @wrixel

    You’re not supposed to spoil!! T_T

    @Icespectra

    I watched it but I got turned off by the designs. But I’ll be keeping watch on comments about it from other blogs to see if it the story gets any better. =)

Leave a Reply

