Slowing down

Standard

Announcing some changes and of course, it’s an update.  State of the Proxy, January 2009.

I actually wanted to declare my intent to join the slow blogging movement but this blog’s posting schedule was too erratic to even be considered as regular blogging.  So what’s slowing down?  Anime consumption, that is.

For the past 3 years I’ve finished at least 20 new shows per year (not counting the old series I watch for the first time), and checked out or dropped at least the same amount.  In retrospect it seemed like I entered myself into some kind of a rat race.  Now I am not burned out, it doesn’t feel like it.  I just came to the conclusion that some of the shows really aren’t worth the time anymore.  And when Maria-sama ga Miteru really ends, I won’t have anything to look forward to aside from Macross.  Gundam sucks.

Now one of the reasons why I watched that many shows was to provide material for posts.  However, watching more doesn’t necessarily equal more posts.  I think it’s inversely proportional.  But would watching less really mean more posts?  I dunno.

So far the biggest casualty of this slow down would have to be the rankings.  So yes, I won’t be doing ranking posts for this year.  I don’t think anybody’s gonna really miss it.  I probably would miss it a little but it’s also been a source of some stress every end of the year.  Now that it’s gone there’s no  more worrying on unfinished shows, anime marathons, and sleepless nights.  Sure I wasn’t forced to do it; in fact I enjoyed it most of the time.  But if continue on the rankings system I’ll just regress into the old ways of watch-all-you-can–the very thing I’m trying to avoid.

I think that’s it for the slowing down part.

As for the anime progress, from last year this is my watchlist:  Casshern SINS, Gundam 00 S2, Saiunkoku Monogatari 2, Tora Dora, Tytania,  Xam’d.  And for the winter season, there’s Maria-sama ga Miteru season 4 (of course), Hajime no Ippo New Challenger, and Zoku Natsume Yuujincho.  Notice that they’re all follow-ups but I don’t care about the rest of the winter shows anymore.   Some look hilarious for the stupid content but I’d rather finish Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and the other books I’ve neglected in the name of JLPT.  (But you know…that’ s 9 shows already…why do I have this uneasy feeling…)

And that’s it.  Till the next post, ja! 🙂

4 responses »

  1. I’ve slowed down on my blogging as well, but for entirely different reasons. Doing some soul searching, as silly as that sounds. I need to reconnect. Also, I started watching Wolf’s Rain…and I have to say that it’s beyond awesome. It’s epic. And tragic. I know I’ll cry at the end.

    Anyway, have a good day/week/month/year, my friend. ^_^

  2. @maya

    Don’t worry, you’re not the only one in the world doing soul-searching. At first it may sound silly, but at the same time it’s emotionally and mentally draining. Good luck to us! 😀

Leave a Reply

