Ah, ha, ha, ha, stayin alive, stayin alive

Standard

This post is not about the Bee Gees.  State of the Proxy, April 2009.

Whenever I write a State of the Proxy post, I usually find myself trying not to rehash what I’ve been saying in other previous posts.  You see, my complaints have always been recurring — too much work, boring anime, not enough anime to watch or too much anime to watch, etc.  Even I get tired of writing the same things all over again.  There’s always something to blame, excuses to make.

However, the same things do happen over and over again–like a vicious cycle.  The only thing that’s different now is that I’m older and the blog is older too and still alive.  Unfortunately I don’t feel any wiser, my command of the English language seems to be deteriorating, progress in my Japanese study has not been made at all.

So, ‘What’s new?’, then?

Nothing really radical.  The slowing down tactic worked only for a while.  There were posts but not enough to bring the blog back to the post output of its first year in existence.   So the number of anime you watch is not really inversely proportional to the quantity of posts that you make.  (Or is it proportional?  Or is there no relationship at all?)  What happened was that the time I did not spend watching anime did not translate into time spent for blogging.  It was diverted to watching live-action Japanese drama.  (I’m currently slowly consuming Hana Yori Dango season 2.  Before that I finished HYD S1 (naturally), Kurosagi, Nobuta wo Produce, Proposal Daisakusen, and Gokusen 1.)  Perhaps the way I saw it was wrong.  Oh, well, back to the drawing board, as they say.

The other blog I started has not been updated since last year too.  I never expected the start of the year to be the hectic and stressful  it just caught me unprepared.

For the rare good news, my anime backlog has lightened a bit.  I’ve finished some shows .  But most important I’m no longer forcing myself to watch the shows I don’t feel like watching just because they’re in my backlog list.  My manga backlog on the other hand is Kekkaishi, and I try to catch up when I’m bored with anime.  (In case I haven’t mentioned it, the other manga I’m following religiously is Skip Beat and Claymore.)

On a side note, I finally met the usagijen of Scrumptious Anime Blog. 😀

Now if I could only find the time to hang-out and chat some more with the Scrumptious chefs.  ^_^;

2 responses »

  1. Yes, Claymore! It is really getting exciting with the Abyss Eaters! However, it seems to me like this is not just another story arc. I wonder if Yagi-sensei is about to wrap up the whole series?

    I know that all good things must eventually come to an end but I really like the world of Claymore.

    If this series does finish by the end of the year I really hope they start making prequels and side-stories.

  2. With the revelations in the past chapters I don’t think this manga will end so soon. There’s too much potential stories that would go to waste if indeed the manga ends. =)

Leave a Reply

