Anime Progress Report: Blues and Strawberries Edition

Standard

Yep, finally got the urge write a progress report again.  And spoiler warnings for Aoi Bungaku.

Aoi Bungaku 01-04 / No Longer Human

I really don’t like Yozo, how weak he was, and how unfortunate that he couldn’t help even his wife who was being abused.  His friend, Horiki, was also despicable–taking advantage of Yozo, also not helping Yozo’s wife.  I cannot understand, despite being men, how they could be so spineless.  Come to think of it, most men in this story are a-holes.  The only thing that I was wondering was, could Yozo have been saved?  At that time period, it must have been hard to get real treatment for him.

Also, that part where Osamu Dazai’s life was explained really helped a lot.  I was wondering, why write such a depressing story?  Then because of that explanation I was like, ok, so that’s why.

Anyway, since I didn’t like this tragic story (what happened to Yozo’s wife was really, really bad), I banished the thought of reading the original work.  I saw a copy in one bookstore, but the fact that it was expensive prevented me from buying it.

On the other hand, according to Wikipedia, a movie is being made which stars Ikuta Toma!  Because I liked Ikuta Toma in HanaKimi, I’m very interested in watching how he performs in this one.  He’s got good looks, but can he act Yozo’s part convincingly?  We’ll see.

Aoi Bungaku 05-06 / In the Forest, Under Cherries in Full Bloom

After No Longer Human, a dose of a little humor helps, though In the Forest, Under Cherries in Full Bloom does have dark themes.  Seeing all those severed heads and how they were displayed like works of art or something is sickening but the feeling was not as strong as I had with No Longer Human.  I don’t know if there is a translation anywhere of the original work, but I’m not inclined to read it right now.

Sasameki Koto 11

I am very glad that I did not drop this show.  It’s not as good as Aoi Hana, but the lighter mood is good. I really like Sumika’s reactions whenever she hears something wonderful from Ushio.  It’s really funny.

Cross Game 37

Is this going to reach 50 or more eps??  But I want the conclusion now T_T

Canaan 09

Finally restarted on this.  Though after episode 9, I’m having difficulty finishing.  Is it because I dread the end?  No, I actually fast-forwarded the other eps till the end.  Yeah, call me a cheater.  Maybe I’ll finally finish this when vacation starts.

Rewatches

This is the fault of Aoi Bungaku, specifically No Longer Human.  It was so depressing I decided to take out my copy of Aria the Animation, and of all things, Strawberry Panic!  I never thought I’d rewatch some eps of the latter show.  But I got depressed I had to watch something mindless!  (Of course you can’t say Aria is mindless but it’s iyashikei and somehow I needed some healing lol) It’s been a while since the show ended, and I’ve seen Marimite and everytime I see something that’s also in Marimite I chuckle.  (Reminds me of something–check out this blast from the past post.)  What a way to drown out depression.  That’s why I’m not really that overly critical of mindless fanservice shows or comedies;  sometimes we really just need a laugh or a break from reality.

Leave a Reply

