Anime Progress Report – December Edition & Take Twos: An Update

Standard

Having re-watched Simoun, most episodes of Crest of the Stars/Banner of the Stars, and Marimite seasons 1-4, finally it’s time to put something in this lethargic blog of mine.

Take Two Update

  • Requiem for the Phantom – The only thing that I can vividly remember is the ending.  And then a silly villain.  Why do they have to be so silly?  Otherwise it was a competent guns galore fest.  But enjoyment is not on the scale of Black Lagoon, or Noir.

Is that Kirika? Oh wait, Kirika's supposed to be with a girl not a boy

  • Ga-Rei Zero – I finally learned to ignore the bad CG and finish this.  A sad, but good story.

These girls just make up for the bad CG

  • Kampfer – I lost interest 5, maybe 10 minutes into the first episode.  I’m probably not picking this up again.  Unless if I run out of things to watch, or become super-ultra bored
  • Sora no Woto – There was nothing to hook me.  Yawn.
  • Tatakau Shisho – The Book of Bantorra – I watched the first ep when it came out, and on rethink, nah, I shouldn’t bother again.
  • Arakawa Under the Bridge – Now this one, is a gem.  I won’t write much now, but I will say this is the funniest show I’ve seen in years.

Kappa! Stars! Venusians! Nuns! They're all nuts! 😄

Winter lineup

As for the upcoming winter season, it seems to be better than previous years.  And I was actually planning to completely go on hibernation.  Here’s what I’m planning to watch:

  • Beelzebub

There’s supposed to be comedy.  Something that I’ve been actively seeking out recently.

  • Fractale

It’s sci-fi.  Something that I’ve also been actively seeking out recently.

  • Freezing

Noto Mamiko.

  • Gosick

There’s supposed to be some comedy so…

  • Hourou Musuko

From the mangaka of Aoi Hana.  ‘Nuff said.

  • IS: Infinite Stratos

Did somebody mention mecha?  I’m in!  =)

  • Kimi ni Todoke 2

I liked the first season enough to finish it.

  • Moshidora

Baseball and Peter Drucker!  Quite an interesting combination.  Very much looking forward to this.   However, I doubt if there will be subbers for this.

  • Starry Sky

Reverse harem.  I’m skeptical of this, but might be worth a try.

As usual, my source of previews is hashihime.

The rest of 2010

I’ve dropped Star Driver and Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn.  I’m not enduring all that just because it’s mecha.  If it’s Macross (e.g. Macross 7), that would be okay.  Otherwise, I’d rather do other things.  Vacation time will soon be over.  =)

Leave a Reply

