Winter 2011: Finally there’s something good to watch

Standard

Even though I should be looking for a job, here I am posting this.  Why?  Because it’s the first time since I started this blog (in 2006) that I became this excited about the winter anime season.  So what will I watch, what will I drop?  Read on.

Winter 2011 Anime Impressions

Beelzebub – 01

It’s funny for now, but I don’t know for how long my interest will hold.  I might end up dropping it halfway like I did with Fairy Tail.  Or should I spare myself the hassle and drop it now rather than later?  Hmm…

Gosick – 01-02

Nice animation.  Though I am not impressed with the supposed skill of Victorique.  It also feels dull.  I need to watch a few more episodes to know if I drop it or not.

Freezing – 01

I checked this out because of Mamiko Noto.  But I can’t watch this crap.  I don’t watch anime primarily to see boobies and gore.  Just not for me.

Kore wa Zombie desu ka? – 01

It’s funny, but I don’t know for how long I will be able to stand those pantyshots and other fanservice thingies.  But it earned points for the male mahou shoujo.  (And he had his share of pantyshots too.  It was hilarious!)  I’ll probably watch a few more episodes to see how the show progresses.

Kimi ni Todoke II – 01

Oh I miss Eclipse.  But thanks gg!  I get to enjoy more Sawako and Kazehaya.

IS: Infinite Stratos – 01-02

The lead male is not outstanding.  And although the first ep failed in the funny meter for me, the 2nd ep was ok. But the preview for the 3rd ep worried me.  Childhood friend number 2??!  It’s just another harem series, just with mecha.  Pass.  I’d rather watch old shows I haven’t seen before (see further down).

Fractale – 01

Now I understand the Ghiblish tag.  That’s Nausicaa reincarnated!  Or not.  The setting is intriguing, the animation is good, I want to know more about the world of Fractale.  I like it.

Is that who I think it is? Oops, not.

Hourou Musuko – 01

I feel somewhat stupid just waiting for the first ep to come out.  (But thanks to that I made some progress on the book I’m reading.)  I felt the cross-dressing portrayal more a touchy subject than the yuri in Aoi Hana, but then that makes it all the more unique.

Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica – 01

Ooops!  I totally forgot about this one.  I already put my first impressions here.  Another one on the watch list.

The Oldies

So out of the 8 9  shows I checked out, only 6 7 were interesting enough, and only 3 4will be on my permanent watchlist (Hourou Musuko, Fractale, Kimi ni Todoke II, Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica).  To complement the new shows, here are some of the oldies I’ll be watching too.

Sakura Wars

I finished the first OVA.  I thought it was funny.  (It’s not a show to be taken really seriously.)  I also liked Kanzaki Sumire’s bitchiness.  However, there was not much mecha action.  So I decided to continue with the TV series.  (Actually I saw the first episode of the TV show before the OVA.  This convinced me to watch further.)  When I first heard the OP, I was transported back in time.  I felt very much at home.  It seems that I will probably enjoy this show more than Infinite Stratos.  So bye-bye, IS.  Hello Sakura Taisen!

Glass Mask

Just like with Sakura Wars, as soon as I saw the OP I thought I was going to like it.  Though not as weird (and hopefully not as tragic) as Onii-sama e, there’s still the potential for major drama.

Edit:  I forgot Mahou Shoujo Madoka★Magica.  Darn.

Leave a Reply

