[Lists 2011] Fictional schools in anime I would like to attend

Standard

I came across this result via ANN about a survey conducted by BIGLOBE regarding fictional schools that people want to attend.  It caught my interest and decided to think up my own list.  Well, that’s assuming I was born Japanese AND my parents had lots of monies to be able to send me to most of my listed schools. (So it looks like my lists project will be continuing this year.)  =D

First, the list of schools that topped the survey:

1. Sakuragaoka Girls’ High School / K-ON!!*

2. Kita Prefectural High School / The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya*

3. Tokiwadai Middle School / Toaru Kagaku no Railgun*

4. Ashford Academy / Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion*

5. Fumizuki Academy / Baka and Test – Summon the Beasts

6. IS Academy / IS: Infinite Stratos*

7. Naoetsu Private High School / Bakemonogatari*

7. Ryōō Academy / Lucky Star

9. Southern Cross Academy / Star Driver Kagayaki no Takuto*

10. Otogi Academy / Ōkami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi

10. Kibitō High School / Amagami SS

I’ve marked shows that I’ve seen (finished/unfinished) with an asterisk (though I am familiar with most).  Unfortunately for me I think most of the schools don’t interest me that much, except for #3.  Take out the characters from a lot of these shows and the schools are probably just plain boring.   Sure #4 and #9 have mechas in them, life would seem to be interesting there BUT dangerous or chaotic.  (Disclaimer for Star Driver: only seen 1 or 2 eps.)

Lilian Jogakuen (Maria-sama ga Miteru)

Oh yes!  First, I like the uniforms.  Another reason is that an all-girls school sounds appealing for someone like me who’s gone to co-ed schools.  But the biggest reason has to be the seour system.  What kind of onee-sama would I get?  Or would I even get one?  Hehehe.  I was wondering why it wasn’t in the top list but then again most of those who took the survey probably wouldn’t be able to enroll in an all-girls’ school anyway. 😀

Can you hear that familiar tune? 😄

Mihoshi Academy (Macross Frontier)

I know I said I didn’t like dangerous places earlier, but the chance to learn how to pilot a variable fighter just overrides the threat of the Vajra.  And yes in the world of Macross F, I wouldn’t want to miss Sheryl’s concert!

Hamadayama Bijutsu Daigaku/Hamadayama College of Arts (Honey and Clover)

If I had succumbed to the artistic side of me, I would have taken an art course in college.  Alas, the practical side of me was stronger, and I took up engineering.  ^_^

My fictional pastel-colored campus life

Momogaoka College of Music (Nodame Cantabile)

If I could go back in time, maybe I’d tell my younger self to learn to play an instrument.  And perhaps I could have been a musician.  And meet the Chiaki of my life there.  😀

Ouran Academy (Ouran High School Host Club)

Did you think I’d pass up the opportunity to enjoy a host club in high school??!!  ‘Nuff said.

Aaaawwwwww

Yazawa Geijyutsu Gakuen/Yazagaku (Gokinjo Monogatari)

This is where I would attend high school if I had decided to dedicate myself to the arts.  Plus the principal is cool.  =p

Tokiwadai Middle School (To Aru Kagaku no Railgun)

I’d like to try a life where I had powers for once, and go to Tokiwadai.

To Aru Kagaku no Railgun Girls

St. Spica’s Girls’ Institute/St. Lulim’s Girls’ School (Strawberry Panic)

I can’t seem to choose between these two schools, because what I’m really after is the chance to stay at Astraea Dormitory aka Strawberry Dorms.  I would relish the freedom of being away from parents while in high school. 😄

Shōhoku High School (Slam Dunk)

The basketball enthusiast in me (in the past) would have wanted to attend the high school where Rukawa plays!  Or play myself–if I had won the genetic lottery in height.

You can just hear those fangirls screaming...

Kamizono Gakuen (Hyakko)

To be able to attend a very big school and get lost sounds like a good adventure. And a very big school has to have a very big library.  Yep folks, if the school was considered the second home, my third home was the library.  ^_^;

How about you?

~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~ o ~

P.S.

Here are the list of schools in the survey:

常盤台中学校(To Aru Kagaku no Railgun)
桜が丘女子高等学校(Akikan!!)
やまぶき高校(Hidamari Sketch)
天上学園(Angel Beats!)
文月学園(BakaTest)
ヴァルトシュタイン学院(Seikimatsu Occult Gakuin)
桃ヶ丘音楽大学(Nodame Cantabile)
鴨橋小学校(Mitsudomoe)
滝沢高等学校(B Gata H Kei)
南十字学園(STAR DRIVER)
御伽学園(Ookamisan to Shichinin Nakamatachi)
桜才学園(Seitokai Yakuindomo)
白麗陵学院(Ladies vs Butlers!)
聖ミハイロフ学園(Seikon no Qwaser)
私立梅ノ森学園(Mayoi Neko Overrun!)
私立秀峰学園(Princess Lover!)
私立直江津高校(Bakemonogatari)
風華学園(Mai-HiME)
私立陽海学園高等学校(Rosario to Vampire)
雛見沢分校(Higurashi no Naku Koro ni)
Is学園(IS: Infinite Stratos)
星月学園(Starry☆Sky)
聖マルグリット学園(GOSICK)
異次元体対応作戦学校(Freezing)
見滝原中学校(Mahou Shoujo Madoka☆Magika)
桃月学園(Pani Poni Dash!)
北高等学校(Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu)
統道学園(Tenjo Tenge)
私立聖祥大附属小学校(Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha)
風林館高校(Ranma1/2)
友枝小学校(Card Captor Sakura)
一応高校(Highschool!  Kimengumi)
アッシュフォード学園(Code Geass)
麻帆良学園(Mahou Sensei Negima!)
宮神学園(Gokujou Seitokai)
椎応大学(Genshiken)
都立陣代高校(Full Metal Panic!)
あずまんが大王の学校(Azumanga Daiou)
浜田山美術大学(Honey and Clover)
私立リリアン女学園(Maria-sama ga Miteru)
陵桜学園(Lucky Star)
光坂高校(CLANNAD)
榊野学園(School Days)
聖桜学園(Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight!)
双ツ橋小学校(Kodomo no Jikan)
輝日東高校(Amagami)
猫実工業大学(Oh My Goddess)
木崎高校(Onegai☆Teacher)
北幌高校(Kimi ni Todoke)
碧陽学園(Seitokai no Ichizon)

I only translated the series names because they’re easier to read and/or translate.

5 responses »

  1. Haha! I would now like them to compile a list of the worst fictional (anime) high schools to attend. I can only think of a couple…

    The one in Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (I don’t think it had a name)
    St. Luminous Mission High School (St Luminous Mission High School)
    Fujimi Gakuen (High School of the Dead)

      • I think going to that high school in Apocalypse Zero would suck. The commute alone, to and from Gyakujuji High School, is deadly.

        And lets not forgot the high school in Bible Black…okay lets forget about it.

  2. As far as bad schools, don’t forget Yokai Academy in Rosario+Vampire; not only is it dangerous and filled with mean students, but the dorms are really dumpy! That Tokyo-3 school in Neon Genesis Evangelion isn’t too great either, since the history Shinji learns there is all falsified propaganda.

    I can see why the K-On! school won, but agree with you in ranking Lillian and the Astraea schools, but as a man, I suppose I would choose between Seigaku and Hyotei in The Prince of Tennis!

Leave a Reply

