Looking backward and forward: Spring and Summer Anime 2011

Standard

Again better late than never.

I may not be blogging that much, but I am watching anime, a lot of it now, in fact.  As I am still new at work, I don’t have a lot of responsibilities yet so I’m not that busy at the moment.  For the past few months I have divided my time between anime, books, Internet, and other stuff I didn’t get to do like shopping left and right (obviously getting paid means spending power hehehe).  Of course I don’t spend everything because it’s important also that I replenish my savings that got depleted when I resigned without a new job.

Now enough of that RL talk.  Since I wasn’t able to do the Spring impressions, I’m combining it with a post about the Summer anime season.

Sofuteni – Awful.  Not my type of show.

Honto ni Atta! Reibai-Sensei – Funny in a random kind of way.  Though there are times I don’t get the joke.

Hana-Saku Iroha – I like!!  Obviously I just turn off my brains and then enjoy this lovely show. 🙂

Yondemasuyo! Azazel-san – Very funny, but not something I’d like to show to just anybody.  Offensive at times but I still found myself laughing a lot.

As for the shows I had high hopes for:

Steins Gate – The male lead is annoying.  But I’ve heard some encouraging posts about it so maybe when it’s finished I’ll give it another try.

Moshidora – I waited for it to end and finished the series in one day!  That’s how much I liked it!

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Boku-tachi wa Mada Shiranai – I almost dropped this one even before the first episode was over.  It felt over-acted sometimes but well, it was refreshing to have something like this once in a while.

Deadman Wonderland – Unfortunately I seem to be averse to violent shows these days.  Dropped.

[C] THE MONEY OF SOUL AND POSSIBILITY CONTROL – It hasn’t captured my attention that much.  The later half will be unwatched until I get curious about the ending.

Shows I’ve checked out from summer 2011:

Mawaru Penguin Drum – I am not a penguin lover but from what I’ve seen so far I can probably take it.  Now I’m thinking whether to rewatch Utena or not.

Uta no Prince-sama Maji Love 1000% – I wanted to at least check this out but it seems there are other things to do so I will pass on this.

Sacred Seven – Intriguing at first but I’m not impressed at the lead.  I don’t know why I am averse to most action shows these days.  Unless if they contain mecha. 😛

Ikoku Meiro no Croisee – I’m not sure a cute Japanese girl in Europe in a metal-working shop can hold my interest for long.  Not really impressed with this one.

Natsume Yuujinchou 3 – The fat cat is back!  Of course I love Natsume Yuujincho, so I’ll be watching till it finishes.  Already this is very memorable because I found episode 5 to be the scariest I’ve seen from all the seasons. 🙂

Yuruyuri – Not that funny.  Not watching.

Nyanpire – Even though a lot of the playing time is taken up by that music video that’s not even that entertaining, the vampire cat is too cute to drop. 🙂

Usagi Drop – The best show of the season I’ve seen so far.  Though I have to be careful to avoid spoilers from the manga.

No. 6 – Totally intriguing.  I myself was on a sci-fi book reading binge and here comes another sci-fi themed show.  Nice.

Blood-C – Every time the main character sings I ask myself why the hell I am watching this show and fight the urge to close the player.  It’s making me think maybe Blood+ wasn’t so bad after all–a short-haired, not singing Saya is preferable to a weird, long-haired singing Saya.

Dantalian no Shoka – I’m watching this in place of Ikoku Meiro no Croisee.  The quality of the stories isn’t uniform but hoping that there will be some surprise in the later eps.

Nekogami Yaoyorozu – Not funny enough.

2 responses »

  1. It sounds like things are going well with your work so far🙂 It’s good to hear that you are finding time to pursue various activities and are not too busy. Based on that list, it looks like you watch alot of anime heh The only one that seemed interesting to me was Usagi Drop, so I watch it when time permits (do not read manga!).

Leave a Reply

