It’s not that sad!

Standard

So I was at this bookstore that was having a sale.  I overhead two girls  discussing manga as they browsed (forgot if they were still in college or working but they were wearing uniforms).   One girl picked up a copy of Honey & Clover and said ‘This manga’s supposed to be sad so I didn’t read it.’  I was very much tempted to say ‘No, it’s not that sad!  Hagu and Takemoto just don’t end up together, that’s all.’

Then I realized it would totally spoil the whole thing for them.  And since I have strong anti-social instincts I just let them be.  Maybe next time, I’d get another chance to say, ‘It’s not that sad!’  😀

7 responses »

  1. You know… I’ve actually been thinking about reading that one and I didn’t know for sure if I wanted to but ;-; do you mean the main couple don’t end up together at all? That’s a total downer… I mean you go the whole story hoping for the main person to have a happy end… it’s kinda sad…

    • Actually the ending’s kind of open but it didn’t show them together. For me it was more about the journey than the ending, and it really wasn’t that sad even if indeed I shed tears watching the anime (and not the manga). If you want something really sad there’s Nana (which unfortunately is on hiatus). 😉

  2. It’s really interesting that your anti-social interaction instincts lead you to avoid what would certainly be termed (very light) anti-social behavior.

    It’s not like you’d lose anything . . . but it could be a hassle if you don’t like dealing with strangers.

    More on topic, I’m not sure that the absence of predefined happiness is sadness. It could also be wisdom, maturity, or reality. “Boy meets girl, boy ends up with girl” is very, very Hollywood. The archetypical love story, Romeo and Juliet, is more poignant for ending up tragic.

    • I also wanted to get out of the store really fast because the 20 %off on books was really tempting and I didn’t want to be picking up another book impulsively. 😛

      Maybe their definition of sadness is ‘couple don’t end up together.’ Sure that’s a little sad but it’s not on the scale of tragic, which is the level of sad for me that I usually wouldn’t want to read. 🙂

    • True that greater things could be acquired but the whole “boy meets girl, boy wants girl, boy gets girl” is an animalistic pretense… underline I’d suppose. To struggle for that end result and failing is sad for the person in general… I never specified the depth. There are tons of levels

      the romeo and juliet end is tragic but still they’re together… I look upon it as a nontraditional happy ending.

  3. Yeah, I’ve heard several people say that Honey and Clover made them cry, but when I read it, it just didn’t hit me that much – and I’m someone who cries pretty easily when I read moving manga. And I wasn’t really rooting for Hagu and Takemoto to end up together because I found Morita to be a more interesting character. If anything, I always enjoyed Yamada’s story more because it was easy to relate to.

    • I saw the anime first and the ending moved me to shed a tear or two. The seiyuu’s voices and the excellent music greatly added to the emotional effect. When I read the manga I was already spoiled about what would happen so emotionally I wasn’t affected as much.

      And yeah, I can also relate to Yamada more easily. Though I can also relate to Hagu in some instances.

Leave a Reply

