Anime Progress Report – October 2014

Standard

The amount of tolerance I can muster for harem/brocon/siscon/moe is directly proportional to the amount of stress suffered at work.  So after some months of stress from work, I am now back in the arms of anime lol.

And lately I have been feeling some urge to post something, so while the iron is hot I’ll strike!  Some shows I’ve seen recently…

Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei
I have been poring over the older season previews ever since Haikyuu!! and Baby Steps ended.  So I came across Mahouka and over the course of 3 days marathoned this series.  Some thoughts:
– I feel the high schools students were too powerful
– Interesting supporting cast.  However it was unbelievable that the high schoolers (with the exception of Tatsuya and Masaki) were not hesitant to injure other people.  It felt too violent at times.
– Last 3 episodes were boring.  Most interesting arc was Nine Schools Competition.  After that it started going downhill…
– Narration of things to come at the end made up for the lackluster ending arc–I hope the story gets better.

Sword Art Online
– Later part of GunGaleOnline arc made me cringe a lot.  When I read the novel translation it didn’t bother me that much.  Oh well I guess I should look forward to Mother’s Rosario arc.  Yay!

Hanayamata
– Hard to finish even though I shouldn’t even be really thinking hard while watching this.

Ghost in the Shell Arise:  Ghost Whispers
– It doesn’t feel like Ghost in the Shell.  I feel like I’m watching an average anime show that doesn’t deserve any more of my time.  Looks like I won’t be watching any more of GITS Arise.

On the other hand, the Fall Anime season is upon us!  After going through the usual season previews here are my picks:

Will Watch

Mushishi Zoku Shou – Oh yes!!! More Ginko please!

Looks interesting I’ll check it out

Cross Ange: Tenshi to Ryuu no Rondo – Mecha?  I’m in!

Akatsuki no Yona – I see a sword and a spear and since halfway through the preview list I am bored, I might as well check out this one.

Hitsuki no Chaika: Avenging Battle – Reminder to myself:  I should finish the first season…

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso – Music?  It’s been a while since a music-oriented anime series came my way.

Caught my attention but will not be watching

Terra Formars – seems to be getting a lot of press coverage based on my impressions on AnimeNewsNetwork.  However the mention of cockroaches has me saying, Yuck!!

Fate/Stay Night Unlimited Blade Works – I’ve had enough of Emiya Shirou from the first series.  I’ll skip this one.

From the season previews I see a lot of ero-game being mentioned.  Hmmm, maybe that’s why a lot of the fall stuff seems meh. The consolation is that I’ll be able to do other stuff aside from watching too much anime.  Till next time, ja!

4 responses »

  1. I found Shirou irritating as hell in the original FSN, but he was alright, and even likeable, in the new show. Amazing how much execution and presentation changes things, even dealing with the same story (for now, that is…I’ve heard the story diverges starting from episode 2). Ufotable’s take is better in every way compared to the old DEEN anime. Better dialogue and story decisions, better characterization, and obviously better art/animation.

    Considering that the new anime is following the storyline where Shirou’s idealistic views are actually challenged and dissected, compared to the DEEN one where the story irritatingly accommodated Shirou’s hero complex throughout the show, I may even end up really liking the guy.

  2. Cookie Biscuit are you talking about the FSN anime by DEEN or the original VN made several years prior to the DEEN anime? Because in the VN there were 3 different routes and the ufotable anime is based off of the 2nd route, while the DEEN anime was mainly based off of the 1st route with a small mixture of the 2nd and 3rd routes mixed in.

    • I mean the DEEN anime. I’m aware that the new anime anime is based on the 2nd route, and the DEEN one is a mix, etc.

Leave a Reply

