[Brief Impressions] Macross Delta: Battlefield Prologue

Standard

Happy New Year everyone!  Let’s greet 2016 with a brand new Macross series post! 😀

This series is just good news, as I was just losing interest in the anime showing nowadays.  Let me just put out first the things I didn’t like:

  • The 3d stuff wasn’t that good
  • Freyja Wion just reminds me of Ranka Lee too much
  • those magical-girl like transformation sequences make my eyes roll.
Idol Triangle Mecha Power, Make-Up!

Idol Triangle Mecha Power, Make-Up!

As for an all-girl idol group, I am willing to give it a chance.  I am not a fan of those girl groups, but I am curious how this will be handled in Macross Delta.  My only worry is that there are too many characters.  As for the enemy, there’s still much to learn about them.  I’m holding off comment for now.

I also like how the girls of Walkure are able to protect other people and themselves.  Singing and working together with the Valkerie fighters made it more realistic.  (I thought Basara’s style in Macross 7 was really silly.)

Agents of Pop Music and Triangles, we are the Walkure! In the name of Love Triangles, we will punish you!

Agents of Pop Music and Triangles, we are the Walkure! In the name of Love Triangles, we will punish you!

Surprisingly, the music wasn’t that bad.  Most Macross music has been good (if not outright excellent), and sets a very high bar.  By the end of the episode the music sounded catchy.  Although I hope that 1) they would also have ‘slow’, emo songs too, 2) the singers perform great live (yes I am very spoiled by May’n and Nakajima performances).

As for the episode over-all, I guess I have been spoiled by the Macross Frontier Deculture edition.  The animation was crisper on the Macross Frontier offering.  I can only hope that Macross Delta will improve in the succeeding episodes.

That ends my first impressions for Macross Delta.  And now the long wait for spring 2016 begins!

Links:

ANN Macross Delta Female Idols (‘coz I can’t be bothered to go into character details)

Leave a Reply

