In Review: xxxHolic

Watanuki Kimihiro can see what others cannot see, but the worst part is the experience is usually not good. One day he comes upon the store of Yuuko, who can grant wishes in exchange for payment. He then works part time to pay for his wish. (c. 2006, Rating: Above Average)

If you want something unique from all those shows out there, if you’re tired of anime featuring humans vs monsters, harems, the typical fare these days (yes I’m tired of watching all that), then perhaps you could try this one. I really enjoyed watching this show, notwithstanding the not so excellent animation. Watanuki’s reactions always manages to get a smile out of me. Now this is based on the CLAMP manga, and in the manga it crosses over with Tsubasa Chronicles. But I’m glad that actually isn’t shown in the anime, as I don’t watch Tsubasa Chronicles. (Or maybe I missed references to Tsubasa C, since I wouldn’t know anything about it.)

There’s usually a different story each episode, and almost always it’s about a new customer who comes in to Yuuko’s store. But the best eps are the ones where the focus is on Watanuki.

Some episodes also manage to scare me a little, especially the one where our main characters go to the beach. My only complaint with this show, aside from the animation, is that Yuuko’s customers are almost all women. Now why is that?

  • Animation at 0.25/0.75. I don’t mind the long legs, but the color is awful.
  • Characters at 0.75/1. The black Mokona is funny. But I have no idea what relation it has to the white Mokona from Magic Knight Rayearth. I think the white one is cuter. Watanuki is my favorite character here.
  • Music at 0.75/0.75. I love the OP.
  • Story/Plot/Dialogue at 0.75/1. There’s usually a new story/customer per episode, but I would like to see a second season to explain more about Yuuko. I don’t know what goes on in the manga, and I’m not likely to read it just so that I could get what really is going on. But I can sense that there is more going on than what is being shown in the anime.
  • Entertainment value at 1.5/1.5. How many times have I said this? I like Watanuki and his antics.

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “In Review: xxxHolic

  1. Naddie

    Well, I won’t say that the anime didn’t do the manga justice, instead I’ll just treat it as a standalone anime xD; It’s hard to do a CLAMP manga justice, anyway, so why bother getting yourself worked up over it, right?

    I liked the show, though it has its weak moments, it’s certainly not as bad as it could’ve been. Although I really, REALLY wish they would’ve had better animation for such an awesome story/manga.

Leave a comment